RSS

The Journey of a Thousand Blogs Begins with a Single Letter

20 Mar

Seriously.

Taking up a new blog on an actual blogging site as opposed to MySpace blogs is a fairly frightening thing for me to do.

So, let’s have a brief introduction to my own personal blogging history:

I signed up to use DeadJournal at age 17. That was aeons ago, and later, when I got a MySpace, I switched to using its blog as my main blog.

For those of you who don’t use MySpace, and even for those of you who do, you probably understand just how terrible the site can be and has been. Addicting, yes, of course, but mind-numbingly awful. The single saving grace I’ve had on MySpace all these years is the blog feature.

Everyone has to grow up at some point in time.

I seriously have over 1000 blogs on MySpace that I have posted since the Spring of 2005 when I signed up. Not all of those posts are worth reading. In fact, I would say the first several hundred were nothing but my repeating myself again…and again…and again.

On to more important issues!!!

A huge problem with the MySpace blog, iChic, is that I could never quite make up my mind what exactly the point of the blog was. Provided, some would say that a blog can be about anything at all, and that’s fine and dandy- blogs that have a topic, a focus, a subject matter, tend to be the ones that succeed more so, don’t you think?

So, for this blog, the decision has come to largely focus on what life in the South is like.

But I’m not going to write from the perspective of someone who just absolutely adores every little thing about the South, nor am I going to give you the general rehash of Green Acres.

No, instead, I will bring forth the little gems of Southern living that no one ever discusses.

Trust me, I’ll likely rant about other topics from time to time, so don’t expect me to spew out only things about living in the South- but I promise, I’ll try to keep on topic.

With regards to whomever may be reading this first entry and with sincere appreciation,

Stevo

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “The Journey of a Thousand Blogs Begins with a Single Letter

  1. Doc

    March 20, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Nice work on both blogs! Vinegar? I had no idea – this may mean more egg-poaching in my future! Thanks!

     
    • enamouredslave

      March 21, 2010 at 3:26 am

      Yes, of course!

      I suppose there may be a way to equally poach eggs successfully without the use of vinegar, and perhaps I’ll look into that for the sake of my friends who are less inclined towards the potency of vinegar in their eggs.

      For the rest of us, though, it adds the fullness of zing to the meal!

       
  2. Van Tilden

    March 23, 2010 at 1:02 am

    i bet foreigners would really love this new blog. i wonder how to advertise it to them…hmmm

    im n ot sure how this new site works yet.

     
    • enamouredslave

      March 23, 2010 at 3:07 am

      WordPress is fairly intuitive and fairly easy to use, Tilly!

      Yes, I think foreigners would love my blog, too, the way everyone loves your blog on Japan. Gotta figure out how to hit them up with it…

       
  3. Courtney Reed

    March 24, 2010 at 1:02 am

    I have decided that your transition from Myspace to an actual blog is like a small kiddie pool that’s surrounded by moldy towels and broken toys. Now you’ve entered the (seemingly) calm waters of a much larger body of water. Congrats my friend…and take off those arm floaties.

     
    • enamouredslave

      March 24, 2010 at 3:39 am

      Thanks. I feel all-around better about breaking into a new blog, too. Nothing like a fresh start to inspire, and as much as I enjoy writing for other people, it’s an incredible blessing to be here, among family, friends, food, and the future. Who knows where it will end?

       

Leave a Reply

 
