RSS

Speaking of Poached Eggs

20 Mar

Last weekend, some folks came to visit us all the way from Mississippi. A guy named Vincent cooked something I’d never had the pleasure of eating- poached eggs.

Despite being weary about eating eggs that don’t appear to be fully cooked, I bravely put the buttered toast and salt and peppered eggs in my mouth.

What followed was an explosion of pure taste.

Honestly, how I’ve lived this long without poached eggs is a complete mystery to me. I’ve made them three times now and even had a friend make them for me one day.

The first time I made them, I did it quite perfectly- the second and third times, something went wrong, that I can’t fully explain or grasp.

The trick to poached eggs, it seems, isn’t the adding of vinegar to the water- though that is absolutely crucial if you want the egg to not completely lose its shape and turn the pot into eggy water! The trick is to put the egg in at the right temperature. If the water isn’t hot enough, the egg will simply fall apart; if the water is too hot, it will cook solid before you can get the white around the yolk.

Also, when eating poached eggs on toast, make sure to use a thick bread. Regular, sliced, processed white bread is not ideal for several reasons- how bad it tastes being the foremost idea that comes to mind. Texas Toast, BBQ bread, or thick slices of French bread are ideal in my opinion.

To cook a poached egg, pour water and vinegar in a medium-sized pot. I suggest using a LOT of vinegar, as it helps keep the egg together. Salt the water, and wait until just before it starts boiling, and I mean JUST before. Crack the egg, drop it in, and then use a ladle to try to keep the egg together, very gentle moving it in the water. The white should cover the yolk; allow the water to come to a boil, and wait a few minutes for the egg white to completely cook. How far the yolk is done is difficult to tell, and I honestly haven’t figured out that trick yet.

Take the bread and toast it; butter the toast, place the poached egg on it, add salt and pepper to taste (I also add some garlic salt), and enjoy the delicious vinegary tasting poached egg. It’s magnificent, and if you haven’t tried it, I really recommend it- it’s not like any other kind of egg I’ve ever had.

You can cook the yolk to different consistencies- I prefer mine slightly runny, but not completely liquid. I never thought I would eat eggs that seem undercooked, but then, the vinegar’s pretty strong and likely kills anything undesirable.

Well, that’s two blogs in one day- I hope everyone’s enjoyed. I’ll do my best to bring daily updates, but no promises.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2010 in food

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Speaking of Poached Eggs

  1. Van Tilden

    March 23, 2010 at 12:59 am

    i love my yolks runny too. in japan i end up eating a lot of raw eggs.
    i am happy to have the tip about vinegar. i didn:t know it did that…thanks!

     
    • enamouredslave

      March 23, 2010 at 3:06 am

      Even if you were to use, say, one cup water and one cup vinegar, the chance is that the egg will still not totally stay together without working it a bit, or at least as far as I can tell. Tonight, I cooked a poached egg on a gas stove, and that was a different experience, to say the least.

       
      • Van Tilden

        March 24, 2010 at 3:28 am

        gas and electric are very different, i agree. i prefer gas because of the fast reaction time. with electric you have to think 5 minutes ahead with the controls. i really hate electric.

         
  2. enamouredslave

    March 24, 2010 at 3:37 am

    For some reason, I couldn’t reply to the second reply you made, Tilly.

    I seem to prefer the gas stoves myself, too, though I think they’re more of a fire hazard.

     

Leave a Reply

 
