RSS

Holy Poached Eggs: From Ideal to Real

22 Mar

Powered by Qumana

My poached eggs had taken a brief hiatus, so it seems.

Forgive the obsession, but they taste really, really good. Sometimes new foods incite cravings for a while!

Here’s the order of events in today’s cooking session.

First, I used white distilled vinegar and heated it in a pan with water.

I used two Eggland’s Best eggs.

Once the water began a slight boil, I added the egg.

I noticed that if you have a lot of vinegar in the water, it becomes rather frothy. A strange phenomenon, but at least you know you’re getting somewhere.

Unfortunately, I lost the egg a few times.

Both eggs still turned out beautifully, though.

I use a utensil that’s a cross between a spatula and slatted spoon- it works extremely well for the poached eggs.

Once you drop an egg in the water, also make sure you that try to roll the whites over the yolk, ever so gently. Try to keep the egg cooking a specific spot. The result will be…

…delicious poached eggs on toast.

I put salt, garlic salt, and pepper on my eggs.

Many people put butter on their toast prior to adding the egg, and while I usually do, I abstained today.

So there you go, an up-close and personal explanation of the magical, mystical, and often difficult poached egg.

Happy cooking everyone!

Sincerely and with lots of love,

Stevo

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 22, 2010 in food

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Holy Poached Eggs: From Ideal to Real

  1. Van Tilden

    March 23, 2010 at 12:51 am

    you know…i have never made an egg like that….hmmmmmmmmm

    but my mil *fries* her eggs in a little bit of water….i guess it is a cross between fried and poached….

    i am gonna enjoy this new blog of yours…..

    i wish tehre was some way to *join* or something so i dont have to leave my email and info each tiem i comment….is there?

     
    • enamouredslave

      March 24, 2010 at 3:31 am

      Other than getting an account, I don’t know how else you could do it.

       
  2. Doc

    March 24, 2010 at 3:00 am

    How much vinegar would you recommend? I really want to try this!

     
  3. enamouredslave

    March 24, 2010 at 3:14 am

    Gosh, I use a lot. Everyone keeps saying “a few Tablespoons,” but I put more like half a cup or so.

    I really like vinegar.

    I also just found a blog that mentioned how the eggs SHOULD look…apparently, mine are completely atrocious. Now, I feel terrible.

    Mine do apparently taste good, though.

    I do have domed eggs at times, but I’m still new to this, so I’m learning all the tricks to perfection.

     
    • Doc

      March 25, 2010 at 12:54 am

      While presentation is certainly important, if you’re the one eating them and they look delicious to you, that’s all that matters. And from the photos, I think they look fine!

       

Leave a Reply

 
