RSS

Something Wicked This Way Comes, by the Swiping of My Thumbs: iPad

01 Apr

Though the central focus of my blog is geared towards living in the South and having good food and such like, I promised earlier that I would insert random miscellany from time to time.

If I didn’t forthrightly state this earlier, then allow me to make it clear now: I won’t always be writing about food, the South, and the things we do to entertain ourselves in this slice of the nation.

So, whether or not you’ve already heard, the electronics/computer company, Apple, is about to release its latest product, the iPad.

In so far as there are probably hundreds of thousands of blogs online and articles in magazines either lavishly praising the iPad or smugly condemning it as another worthless, over-priced trinket, I, as usual, will attempt to voice my own concerns and give the pros and cons of the product as far as I know them.

First, let me explain what the product is: the iPad is a tablet computer, which essentially boils down to being a computer with no physical keyboard that relies heavily on having a touch screen.  It’s ultra-portable and likely ultra-lightweight.

The iPad is not unlike the iPod Touch or the iPhone, though it is larger- the screen is about 10".

A huge reasoning for the creation of the iPad is that it will compete with the new line of book-readers that have debuted from other companies, such as the Kindle and the Nook. The Kindle and the Nook are essentially used for reading electronic copies of books.

Apple already has the iTunes store, and now guess what’s popping up?

You guessed it.

iBooks.

And thus, the iPad.

I am an avid Apple fan, to be sure, but I don’t get carried away with it- I’m realistic about it. I do own and am running a MacBook, which is, with no doubts, the best computer I’ve ever owned, but that’s a blog for another day.

The iPad is definitely shiny, and as much as I love swiping and clicking with my fingers on my friend’s iPod Touch, I know I would love doing it on an iPad as well.

But I can’t justify a purchase based on how much fun it is to swipe and click things.

Being a writer, I need an actual keyboard, not an on-screen, pop-up keyboard.

Also, let’s get extremely real for a moment- when has Apple fairly priced any of its products? Every single item Apple sells is at least twice the price that it should be. Sure, your computers are better, but that doesn’t mean you have to bankrupt someone for them to purchase one.

Apple also loses huge points for the lack of a camera on the iPad. Hello? If the screen really is so shiny and gorgeous and vivid and such-like, then wouldn’t it make sense to allow someone to photograph themselves and others, and to do videos on the ultra-portable happiness?

But the lack of a camera is not my biggest problem with the iPad- the problem that stands out to me is the sheer lack of storage on it.

Seriously, let’s get real- the $499 model without 3G, which is the cheapest available, only has 16 Gigs on it. The $599 model has 32 Gigs, and the $699 model has 64 Gigs- this all in the era when even the lowest model MacBook comes standard with 250 Gigs, and PCs come standard with 320+ Gigs.

I would love to have an iPad. I don’t know that I would love to pay the price for one, or that I could justify spending that amount of money on one, and I’ve no clue where the real market for the iPad is. Apple has, however, weaved more than one magical spell over the public and transformed the way we compute and listen to music, and who knows what kind of potential lies within the world of tablets?

No doubt, some avid fanboys will purchase an iPad and relentlessly defend every flaw it has.

For me, I wonder why Apple didn’t go the whole mile- make a real tablet, complete with a camera and the full 320 Gigs of storage and so on.

Then again, this may simply be a clever marketing move that allows Apple to produce a cheaper, less reliable version of a product only to then create new, souped up,  2nd and 3rd generations of the same product, complete with more storage and a camera feature and anything else that should have, in the minds of even the most mediocre thinkers, been included in the original product.

Other companies use the same tactic- look at the Nintendo DS situation.

First, there was the bulky Nintendo DS.

Then came the sleeker Nintendo DS Lite.

Next, the more-well equipped Nintendo DSi, complete with a camera.

And now, the Nintendo DSi XL, which is the DSi with bigger, more visible screens.

To return to the topic, I know that the iPad will likely flourish, if only for a year or two, before the Next Great Technological Shift occurs, and of course, I’m going to test one out to see how it works, and of course, there may come a time when I can justify the purchase of one and actually use it to make my life easier.

For now, though, my trusty MacBook will stay my best computing friend.

Happy computing!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2010 in food

 

6 responses to “Something Wicked This Way Comes, by the Swiping of My Thumbs: iPad

  1. Van Tilden

    April 1, 2010 at 8:10 pm

    i love playing with tetsus iphone. it is so nifty. i cant wait till they are standard.
    but i heard that they lose money on the actual sale, and make up for it in rates. i think you get the iphone free if you sign up for the service here. and obligate yourself several months.

    it has a camera now too.

    i dunno about this ipad thing though. my original ipod, the bulky thing (at the time it seemed so small!) had about 60gig, so that tiny amout of storage sorta sucks.

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 1, 2010 at 9:02 pm

      The subsequent iPods actually have less space on them the original one, so go figure on that.

       
  2. dustinchavis09

    April 1, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    YES STEVO. i want an Ipad also. I have been waiting on this blog to come up lol.

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 1, 2010 at 10:30 pm

      That’s great, Dusty! I hope you end up getting one and letting me blog about how good or bad it actually is.

       
  3. Doc

    April 2, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    Tablet computer, eh? No camera… Forgive me for revealing my iIngorance, but is the iPad wi-fi capable? And do we have any idea what the battery life is like? And/Or does it plug in, other than to charge? I don’t currently own an iAnything, but so far, the iPad is the most tempting product of theirs I’ve seen, for the money.

     
  4. enamouredslave

    April 3, 2010 at 1:33 am

    Oh, yes, yes, Doc- the standard model is Wi-Fi capable, and the 3G model allows you to pay a phone company to basically use the internet on the iPad ANYWHERE with phone reception.

    I’m sure that the iPad plugs in, other than to simply charge the battery, and Apple is stating that the iPad gives about 10 hours off a single charge- but you also have to consider that, like any electronic, this depends on how much you’re doing on it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
