RSS

Cheeburger Cheeburger Review

03 Apr

So a lovely little burger joint opened recently in Dothan, and some friends attended it early on and praised it lavishly for how good the food was. By name, the burger joint is known as Cheeburger Cheeburger.

Not being the sort of person who spends excessive amounts of money on anything thanks to my frugal and Puritanical roots, I waited for a perfect occasion to go with my friends to investigate the supposedly great food.

I’m a man of experience. Without discrediting the opinions of others, I take them with a grain of salt and as often as I can, find out for myself.

So into Cheeburger Cheeburger we ventured one crisp and clear Monday night, and I was greeted with bright pink bulbs and a general 1950’s Diner atmosphere.

That was about the extent of my pleasure in the trip.

Our server, for one, did not smile, once, during the entire time we were present. She messed up the order of milkshakes, and though the Oreo milkshake was very good, it wasn’t what had been ordered. We forgave her for this.

Then we ordered. Being a pesco-vegetarian, I was severely limited in my options (more on the vegetarianism in another blog down the road), so I ordered a Portobello burger with mayo, onions, and Swiss cheese. My friends ordered regular hamburgers and a half and half order or French fries and onion rings.

Sadly, the Portobello Burger was a big mistake.

I paid almost eight dollars for a crappy burger that tasted rubbery and not at all like a mushroom. Adding ketchup and mustard helped, but I could have and have indeed prepared superior cuisine to what I was offered that night.

The onion rings, too, were good, whereas the fries were only mediocre. Credit is given where due, and the onion rings weren’t overly breaded, instead being large hoops of crispy goodness.

The total tab included…

-1 milkshake

-1 order of half fries, half onion rings

-3 burgers

-3 sodas

…and the price totalled up to about 33 dollars. Split three ways, that averages out to 11 dollars per person, and though my friends had no complaints about their burgers, I was not impressed.

Maybe I just ordered a poor item on the menu, and just to double check this, I’m going to visit Cheeburger Cheeburger again in the future and order something different to see if it was just a bad item or if the food in general is overpriced and disgusting.

Until next time, happy dining out and eating away at those unique little diners!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 3, 2010 in food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Cheeburger Cheeburger Review

  1. Doc

    April 3, 2010 at 3:30 am

    We’ve discussed restaurants, particularly fast food joints, before. While I’m sure your general views didn’t color your response, I can understand your disappointment – regardless of how objective you intended to be, no doubt your friends’ enthusiasm built up a certain level of expectation. And, not to “diss your ‘hood” as the young people say nowadays, but are Portobello Burgers really a big thing in Dothan? Maybe their inexperience had something to do with the quality of that particular dish? Bear in mind, please, I’m writing this while asleep…

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 3, 2010 at 2:59 pm

      Yes, and I’ve been informed by others that the veggie burger is good. As usual, I’m giving the place the three-strikes, you’re out plan- if by three visits the food hasn’t improved, I’m going to chalk it up to generally poor food and not simply a bad order or a bad night.

       
  2. Doc

    April 4, 2010 at 4:26 am

    That seems more than fair!

     

Leave a Reply

 
