RSS

Magical Ginger

06 Apr

Today, stomach cramps awoke me after my only having been asleep for a little over an hour. The pangs were terrible and unpredictable, so strong that I couldn’t return to sleep.

So, I roused myself, had something to drink, and played around online for a while. Later, I lay down again and fell asleep for a few hours, and woke up to more stomach pangs, though not quite as intense.

I managed to work out, and then my sense of balance was severely off- I almost fell a few times!

The stomach pangs returned while at a friend’s house, so at his suggestion I ate some ginger and proceeded to make some ginger tea.

Ginger helps many kinds of stomach ailments, from nausea to cramps to more, at least in my experience. Not long after I ate the crystallize ginger root, my stomach settled and began to feel much, much better.

I proceeded to make ginger tea, which simply involved heating the crystallized ginger in a cup of pre-made sweet tea. This helped further to soothe my stomach.

Once, my mother was ill at her stomach, and I offered her some powdered ginger, after which her stomach was healed!

My father’s upset stomach, too, was helped once when I offered him ginger tea. Ginger root truly has amazing properties to it, and if you’ve never tried this magical little root, it comes with the hghest of recommendations on my part, from personal experience.

If I’m not mistaken, the medicinal use of ginger originates in China and is likely widespread in Chinese and Eastern medicine. Perhaps my friend Heather can shed some light on the use of ginger in Japan in her blog- I would be interested to know.

One use of ginger in Japan that comes to mind is its ability to cleanse the palat when eating sushi. For instance, one eats a certain kind of sushi, and then one has a bit of pickled ginger to refresh the palat and then eat a different kind of sushi.

No matter the use of ginger, the herb is definitely something to check out and has apparently made its way into the folk remedies of the South. Here’s to the miraculous properties of herbs!

Happy dining!

StevoTags: , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2010 in food

 

4 responses to “Magical Ginger

  1. Doc

    April 7, 2010 at 2:01 am

    Now for a blog about Mary-Ann! Maybe Mrs Howell or the Professor! Kidding – as always the blog was fun and informative! Thanks!

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 8, 2010 at 2:55 am

      Hahaha, that’s humorous, Doc! That show is a classic staple.

       
  2. hexijosh

    April 8, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    Last week, after an extensive night of drinking, all I could think about was finding one bottle of real ginger ale. I set out on a nauseous mission until I found a nice cold one in a local gas station, but the Wachovia gods decided to toy with me and decline my card at the register.
    Devistation!

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 8, 2010 at 5:27 pm

      What a dismal situation! Maybe you should store some for future incidents?

      I should’ve mentioned ginger ale as well, which is also used extensively in the South.

       

Leave a Reply

 
