RSS

Julia Child: Goddess of the Kitchen and My Obsession

08 Apr

Growing up, I heard here and there about Julia Child. I think one of my first encounters with her was a clip on the Oprah show, where Oprah interviewed people about what was included in their refrigerators. She was especially curious about what Julia Child might have, and the clip led to the elderly Julia opening her fridge and explaining the contents.

With the growth of the Food Network and the biographies they sometimes offer about various chefs and cooks as part of their programming, I was bound to watch the Julia Child biography one fateful day. I’m always up for expanding my sense of culture and aesthetics, and so the show in question caught my attention.

What impressed me the most by watching the program was that Julia Child, the famous chef who taught Americans the art of French cooking, was at one time absolutely terrible with her cooking skills. Who would imagine that someone as inspiring and skillful as she was at any point in time dreadful?

The turning point came after Julia entered cooking school. She learned that cooking can be reduced to a sort of science- precise measurements, specific movements, timing, and such like. After that, her skills greatly improved.

I think what’s most salient in this situation is that we expect even the beginning students at a cooking school to have some sort of aptitude for cooking- and poor Julia had to learn all of her talent.

Next, the movie Julie & Julia debuted, and of course that caught my attention thanks to the presence of Meryl Streep and Amy Adams. Meryl Streep’s talent is unrivaled, and the sheer contrast between her role in films such as Doubt and The Devil Wears Prada and her role as Julia Child is mind-sweeping.

Recently, I’ve ordered Julie’s own memoirs, a book titled My Life in France. Believe it or not, I find biographies, especially autobiographies, to be especially entertaining. (As a side note, I’m currently reading Babara Walter’s autobiography- I also admire her greatly.)

The book should arrive any day now, and I’m excited to read it!

Julia continues to be an inspiration to me and to many of my friends, who love to impersonate her. She had a lot of spunk in her time here on Earth, and it’s sad that I’ve only just now come to a point where I have much knowledge of her.

Her recipes and tricks of the trade are especially helpful- preparing an omelette and a poached egg has never been easier, and I even made sculpted eggs the other night. Too bad I was lacking English Muffins- but that’s okay, I made a mock hollandaise sauce to go with it, and it was divine.

If you don’t know a lot about Julia Child, I suggest you look her up and check out some of her videos. She’s a fascinating woman, and her pecularities make her cooking show worth watching, in addition to the sheer information you absorb.

Happy eating, friends!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2010 in food

 

3 responses to “Julia Child: Goddess of the Kitchen and My Obsession

  1. Doc

    April 9, 2010 at 3:38 am

    I remember watching Julia Child when *I* was a… child. More often, though, I watched more of The Galloping Gourmet (Graham someone) – not a matter of preference, he was just on more when I was a kid. I recommend watching/looking for him as well, particularly as he is A.) still around (as far as I know) and B.) presenting much healthier dishes now than in his hey-day, since his wife passed on (due to causes related to the sometimes rather rich foods he prepared, it’s been said)!

     
  2. Doc

    April 9, 2010 at 3:40 am

    Kerr – his name is Graham Kerr. Look here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Graham_Kerr

     

Leave a Reply

 
