RSS

Caviar Dreams

14 Apr

Caviar is often associated with the rich and famous as a delicacy.

For those of you who are unaware, caviar consists of fish eggs. Though this may not sound appetizing, you would be completely surprised by how good it can (potentially) taste.

I haven’t completely figured out why caviar has such a high price tag on it, but even the worst varieties come with a hefty price tag.

Since I hadn’t eaten caviar in years and the local grocery store began carrying it again, I decided to indulge myself and purchased the 2-ounce jar for almost 9 dollars.

The particular kind of caviar is red salmon roe; this type of caviar isn’t necessarily considered "true" caviar, which comes from specific kinds of fish.

Caviar is best eaten on crackers and perhaps with cheese and other garnishes- caviar alone isn’t terrible, but it certainly works well to accentuate the taste of other foods.

Mostly caviar has a slightly fishy, salty taste. The higher priced caviar has less sodium content in it and probably comes with a more subtle taste.

This past time, I consumed the caviar on wheat thins with a bit of feta cheese. Absolutely amazing! The only small complaint I had about it was the salty taste. Salt isn’t a terrible thing, especially not to my taste buds, but the caviar was almost too salty, if such a thing can actually exist.

So, here’s to caviar dreams- if you haven’t tried it, I would certainly suggest having some, if and only if you can afford it. I won’t be paying $9 for caviar again for a long time if I can help it, but I’ll definitely keep a look out for the higher-priced varieties that taste better.

Happy eating, everyone!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2010 in food

 

2 responses to “Caviar Dreams

  1. vantilden

    April 29, 2010 at 5:00 am

    i dont think ive ever tried it.

    ive tried other fisheggs though. not really my fav.

    this is as far back as i have time for today. ill be back though

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 30, 2010 at 12:46 am

      They’re semi-okay, I think; the caviar in question wasn’t so incredibly special that I just couldn’t live without it for the rest of my life, I think.

       

Leave a Reply

 
