RSS

Corn Nuggets, the Golden Bite of Heaven

19 Apr

The old saying is that you learn something new every day, and today I discovered something about myself that was either previously lost in memory or completely unknown to me all along.

To most people who know me, the fact that I absolutely hate corn in its myriad forms is well-known. I don’t eat corn on the cob, I don’t eat corn off the cob, I don’t eat creamed corn, corn in vegetable soup, or any other variation and preparation of corn. That’s just how I am.

Needless to say, in the South, we eat a lot of corn.

I do want to make a quick point that I have no problem eating things made out of cornmeal. Corn bread, for instance, is a staple food in the South, but the "great debate" over corn bread will be saved for a future blog.

Successfully avoiding corn for the best decade or so of my life, I came to an astounding discovery today when I ate something called corn nuggets- they were utterly and shockingly the most delicious thing I had put in my mouth in a long, long time.

Corn nuggets, from what I can tell, are pieces of corn that have been battered and deep-fried to creamy perfection. The flavor is tangy, rich, and sweet, all at once.

These little bites of heaven are a new discovery for me, and I’ll be eating them from now on as often as I can find them.

Has anyone else ever had corn nuggets before? Man, how did this little secret escape me all these years?

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 19, 2010 in food

 

7 responses to “Corn Nuggets, the Golden Bite of Heaven

  1. Doc

    April 20, 2010 at 3:14 am

    I’ve enjoyed a number of corn nugget variants – and they rarely fail to satisfy! I didn’t know of this antipathy of yours toward corn – I don’t understand it, but to each his own. I recently discovered a barbecue joint in OKC that is absolutely amazing, and one of their sides is something called “Cream E. Corn” – one thinks, “Oh, creamed corn, so what…”

    But one is mistaken.

    This is regular corn in a sort of sauce that is… indescribable. It’s rich, it’s smooth… I’m not sure what’s in it – cream cheese and other things… I’ve never had anything like it, anywhere! If I can inveigle the recipe from the owner, rest assured, I will share it!

    Meanwhile, I want to hear more about these corn nuggets! Recipe? Please?

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 20, 2010 at 10:59 am

      Now that also sounds like it may be worth trying, considering I was so shocked by the corn nuggets.

      As far as recipes go, I’ll look into it and try to figure out how to prepare them on my own. I googled and found several variations, none of which I’ve had the time to try. I’ll get back to you on it, for sure, in a follow-up entry.

       
  2. Kim

    April 25, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Hi! i saw you on myspace. The corn nuggets i make them. Just a simple fritter batter and some oil.. voilla!!! My oldest daughter asked for them just recently.. love the blog 🙂

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 25, 2010 at 3:11 pm

      Thanks for the comment! I appreciate it, really!!!

      I’m glad other people are enthusiastic about the corn nuggets. I think this week, corn nuggets and quiche both will be my major goals to accomplish; then I can post about those and get more feedback.

       
      • Kim

        April 29, 2010 at 3:49 pm

        looking for a recipe..

         
  3. Kim

    April 29, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    I am taking them for a test run. 2 kinds, one plain, one with jalepenos 😉

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 30, 2010 at 12:49 am

      With jalapenos?! That sounds like I would explode from the sheer happiness in my mouth! Let me know how they turn out for you, then I’ll try to make some and see what happens.

       

Leave a Reply

 
