RSS

GRITS, GRITS, GRITS!

21 Apr

Grits are an absolute favorite food in the South, usually eaten around breakfast time but not necessarily limited to it.

The versatility of grits is the best aspect. They can be eaten savory, sweet, or just about any way you want to prepare them. Grits can also be thicker or soupier, depending on one’s preferences.

Grits have the consistency of porridge- something like oatmeal. Many people who aren’t from the South have compared grits to cream of wheat. Having never tried cream of wheat myself, I can’t state whether or not the comparison is accurate.

The most popular way to eat grits is with salt, pepper, and butter.

Some people add cheese to their grits.

Some people add sugar instead.

The only variety recently suggested to me that I haven’t tried is grits with syrup in it. I’m not a huge fan of syrup, whether on my pancakes or in my grits, so I can’t say I’m exactly thrilled at that idea, but perhaps it isn’t too different from the sugary grits.

Grits that have been sitting out or have cooled or stored in the fridge inevitably congeal and aren’t nearly as appetizing as fresh grits, which have a creamier consistency. Thus, I highly recommend to eat fresh grits and not grits that have cooled.

Grits are actually a coarsely ground corn- yet another variety of corn that I actually like!

In the past, there was the rumor in the South that people from other parts of the USA, namely the North, thought that grits actually grew on trees. This gave rise to a song called, "Let’s Go Sit Under the Grit Tree" or something along those lines.

I have no idea if people from other parts of the USA were actually under the impression that grits grew on trees or not- that sounds more like a sarcastic attempt of the South to make other people look ignorant. But just to clarify either way- grits do not grow on trees.

They do, however, taste good.

Grits will return when we visit the traditional Southern breakfast, wherein grits are eaten alongside sausage, bacon, eggs, toast, biscuits, and more.

If you get a chance, try grits! One of my friends on the West Coast tried grits and wasn’t overly impressed. Maybe the grits in question weren’t prepared properly, or maybe other people aren’t as impressed with them as Southerns might like to think.

Happy eating, and don’t let your grits get too cool!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2010 in food

 

4 responses to “GRITS, GRITS, GRITS!

  1. pocketsofempty

    April 21, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    On the west coast, it’s hard to find a place that serves grits. I’m surprised your friend found them!

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 21, 2010 at 10:04 pm

      Yes, I didn’t think about that, but yeah. Probably quite difficult, as it’s difficult to find many foods here.

       
  2. Doc

    April 24, 2010 at 4:13 am

    Believe it or not, being born in Oklahoma and raised there and in South Texas, I never tried grits until I had entered adulthood. Then, though, my reaction was “Where have you been all my life?!? Nom-nom-nom…” I take ’em with butter, salt and pepper, and they’re (to me) best with eggs, particularly if you spoon some yolk into them. And yeah, cold, congealed grits – MUCH less delicious. In fact, if you let them go too long, you can SCULPT stuff out of them…

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 24, 2010 at 2:22 pm

      That’s the same reaction I had with the corn nuggets- isn’t that strange, how a food that others eat is there the whole time, and you just kind of miss out on it?

      I’m sure there are other foods I’ve yet to have that are Southern. I will not, however, be eating food such as chitterlings, now or in the future.

       

Leave a Reply

 
