RSS

Tomato Gravy

23 Apr

Unfortunately, I have no pictures to offer you in this entry; forgive me. The main reason I have no pictures of my mother’s tomato gravy is that I ate all the leftovers tonight!

A blog about gravy prior to tomato gravy may actually make more sense.

I’m not sure how often gravy is eaten in the rest of the country or what kinds of gravy are eaten. In the South, I’ve had two or three different kinds of gravy, all of which I enjoy, and oh, did I mention we eat gravy frequently? Again, the diet here is not geared towards one’s health, so Southern cuisine is best consumed in small dosages.

In the past, of course, high fat and high calorie food supplied the energy necessary to work hard on the farms. Now, no one works nearly so hard, but we largely eat the same diet! No wonder we have high rates of heart disease in the South.

Either way, tomato gravy is an amazing food, best eaten with freshly made biscuits. Tomato gravy requires regular gravy of whatever variety, and during the cooking process, tomatoes are added, after being freshly diced. Tomatoes change the flavor of gravy considerably and offer a fresh spin on a traditional Southern favorite.

Biscuits and gravy are also another blog in the making. Gravy goes well with other foods as well.

If and when I come across tomato gravy again, I’ll snap a photo and do another blog on it.

On a scale of one to ten, tomato gravy ranks a good 9 on the "you should try it!" scale.

So go ahead and dig in, Y’ALL.

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 23, 2010 in food

 

2 responses to “Tomato Gravy

  1. Doc

    April 24, 2010 at 4:20 am

    Somehow, I managed to miss out on tomato gravy – but liking tomatoes as I do, I’m willing to give it a try.

    As for the health factor of Southern cuisine, no, it isn’t very good for you body – but OH, what a balm to one’s spirit. I, personally, think the mental health advantages outweigh (if you’ll pardon the unintentional pun) the physical detriments…

    I’m sure gravy is a part of other regional recipes, but they may call it something else. And believe me, you can tell when you’re dealing with someone who has no personal, practical experience with Southern cuisine – like when your chicken fried steak arrives with brown gravy (shudder)…

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 24, 2010 at 2:20 pm

      I definitely recommend it.

      I can imagine that people from other places may really be confused about typical Southern cuisine. In some cases, that would well-justified: see the reality of collards and all that.

       

Leave a Reply

 
