RSS

Sunday Lunch: A Southern Tradition

25 Apr

In the South, Sunday Lunch is especially emphasized, largely because people would meet after church and eat together. Inviting the pastor to one’s home to have lunch is specifically a tradition that, to my knowledge, has lost some potency.

As a child, we attended Sunday Lunch at my grandfather’s house almost religiously. Without fail, on Sunday morning, we would get dressed and go to Poppy’s to have lunch. When I was especially young, we went to church, too, but that somehow tapered off as I grew older.

This blog is, however, not about going to Poppy’s- instead, it is about today’s Sunday Lunch.

To this day, something more Southern and essentially different is cooked every Sunday. The kind of food mentioned here also has a more "soul food" flavor to it.

Today’s lunch consisted of white rice, boiled, with butter and salt added…

…along with baked corn bread. I know, the corn bread is in a skillet, but it’s baked in the skillet, in the oven.

The Great Cornbread Debate will be tackled in another post later on. I’m not necessarily adverse to baked cornbread, but I definitely prefer it fried.

Next, we have an interesting food called "speckled butter beans."

I think we often use the wrong terms for food in the South, so I’ve grown up calling lima beans "butter beans." The taste of speckled butter beans is essentially identical to lima beans, though butter beans are larger. Lima beans may have more flavor to them than butter beans. Either way, they’re tasty and loaded with protein.

The meat of the day was baked pork chops, which I didn’t photograph. Not being too terribly pretty and my not eating meat both contributed to my not photographing them- but it does complete the menu in a way.

In addition, we had sweet pepper relish as a garnish. I mixed it into my beans and rice, which made a heavenly combo.

Southern cuisine is far more extensive than shown here, and though this food may appear bland, it has a distinctive taste not found often outside the South.

Now go and have some butter beans!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2010 in food

 

3 responses to “Sunday Lunch: A Southern Tradition

  1. Doc

    April 26, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever had fried cornbread…

     
  2. vantilden

    April 29, 2010 at 4:47 am

    i totally forgot about butter beans. mmm i need some

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 30, 2010 at 12:44 am

      I wonder what kinds of things I might end up forgetting about when I go to Japan.

       

Leave a Reply

 
