RSS

I GOT MORE CORN NUGGETS!!! And Typical Southern Lunches

26 Apr

So, in a sweet turn of fate suddenly smiling upon me, for lunch today, I had more corn nuggets!

In addition to the corn nuggets, I had mozzarella sticks. Mozzarella sticks are almost always a disappointment, including the ones today, but that’s a burden I can bear. It’s difficult to get good mozzarella sticks one way or another.

Last week, in the previous blog about corn nuggets, I didn’t show the "typical Southern lunch" that included the corn nuggets in it. They were actually part of the plate that my father was eating.

As we see here, in the upper left-hand corner, we have macaroni and cheese. In Great Britain, macaroni and cheese is shortened to "macaroni cheese." This style is extremely creamy and has a rich, tangy taste to it.

To the right, we have the heavenly corn-nuggets. So…good…

Below it, there’s a fried pork-chop, and next to it is a hush-puppy. For those of you who aren’t aware of hush puppies, they’re a kind of small, fried corn bread with a slightly sweet taste. Often they’re served with fried catfish; I’ll discuss both in a future blog.

At this point, I know you might be wondering if there’s anything that Southerners don’t fry. It’s true- we do fry a huge chunk of our food. If someone actually knows how to fry and fry well, it’s delicious. But if it food isn’t fried well, then it’s absolutely terrible.

Also, advice for those who aren’t accustomed to dealing with fried food- you can’t really store it properly. Many people do, in fact, refrigerate fried leftovers, but they’re almost never good.

My personal serving of macaroni and cheese ended up having salt and pepper sprinkled on it. For some reason, salt and pepper alone really enhance the flavor. I wish my macaroni and cheese turned out this delicious.

Macaroni and cheese, too, will appear in a future blog, as it’s one of my favorite foods.

Here are the corn nuggets:

The inside:

Until then, happy eating, and even though constantly eating fried food isn’t good for you, occasionally, it boosts your mood!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2010 in food

 

3 responses to “I GOT MORE CORN NUGGETS!!! And Typical Southern Lunches

  1. Doc

    April 27, 2010 at 2:27 am

    Oh, I don’t know – the folks in Scotland fry damn near everything, and they persevere – indeed, they thrive! Maybe it’s merely a matter of building up a tolerance…

     
  2. Kim

    April 29, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    I am really enjoying your blogs. I swear i am going to hunt down a recipe for the corn nuggets for you.. LOL The pork chop is making me slobber!
    Oh, and mac and cheese is easy.. :)))

     
    • enamouredslave

      April 30, 2010 at 12:48 am

      Oh, thank you! I’ll definitely make sure to test them once you find some.

       

Leave a Reply

 
