RSS

Grilled Cheese Thrill, Part 2.

13 May

I can’t remember exactly when I began to cook for myself or even make grilled cheese sandwiches. One day, randomly, while sitting at a coffee house that is no longer in business, a girl told me to put garlic salt in the frying pan before actually frying the grilled cheese up.

So, I proceeded to do so.

What was the result?

An amazingly better grilled cheese sandwich.

How many grilled cheese sandwiches I made by putting garlic salt in the oil or butter, I have no idea. They were all equally amazing, time in and time out.

Preferably, I would use French bread and Hoop cheese. This isn’t always available, and truth be told, processed bread does fry up nicely in a skillet. So, many of my grilled cheese sandwiches came thusly.

For many months, I would come home from school, make grilled cheese sandwiches, make hot tea with milk, and watch the TV show Judging Amy. 

The process of making grilled cheese is not complicated. Simply heat some oil or butter in a skillet, place cheese between two slices of bread, sprinkle garlic salt into the oil in the pan, and cook the sandwich on medium heat, making sure to flip it after a few minutes to get it golden brown on both sides.

Of course, the likelihood of burning a sandwich is quite high the first several times. Patience in cooking is a necessary virtue to reach Kitchen God (or Goddess) status.

So there you go- the famous Beaux grilled cheese sandwich explanation.

More to come on in the next blog about the grilled cheese.

Happy Skillet-izing!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 13, 2010 in food

 

6 responses to “Grilled Cheese Thrill, Part 2.

  1. Doc

    May 13, 2010 at 4:30 pm

    Interesting process you have there! My method includes heating a dry skillet, buttering the bread, putting it in the skillet (buttered side down, natch), putting a slice or two of cheese on the bread, then stacking another buttered slice of bread atop that, and flipping it at the appropriate time. Grilled cheese sandwiches take patience, but they also demand attention. Even on a medium heat, they can get away from you and burn or just “over-toast”. It does take some practice! And adding a slice of tomato or turkey lunch meat dazzles it up a bit too. I’ll certainly give the garlic salt a try!

     
    • enamouredslave

      May 14, 2010 at 12:58 am

      Yes, the part about buttering the bread on both sides is something I’ve observed others do and will be mentioned in a future blog.

       
  2. hexijosh

    May 13, 2010 at 6:00 pm

    Well, I have to say, that is a great idea and I’m tempted to try it now. Also, glad to see you’re also a Judging Amy fan. Thank god for TNT’s Primetime in the Daytime!

     
    • enamouredslave

      May 14, 2010 at 1:00 am

      I stopped watching it a long time ago, but yeah, for the longest time it was complete and utter entertainment for me.

       
  3. hexijosh

    May 13, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    BTW, I just tried that garlic salt thing and, considering I have a strong aversion to grilled cheese, it was completely enjoyable. Thanks!

     
    • enamouredslave

      May 14, 2010 at 1:01 am

      Not a fan of the grilled cheese? I’m glad that the garlic salt solved the problem for you, then. I myself was quite surprised the first time I tried it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
