RSS

Good Chinese Food with Weird Egg Rolls: The Story of the Ozark Adventure

15 May

Some friends of mine and I traveled to a Chinese place (that shall remain unnamed) in a town called Ozark recently. We were excited, because we had heard how great the food was and how many cream cheese wontons we could get for a small price.

My friends ordered seasame chicken with fried rice…I think.

My order: Hot and Spicy Shrimp with Lo mein.

Hot and Spicy Shrimp consists of shrimp with onions, carrots, and English peas all in a spicy tomato sauce. Very hot, very spicy, very tasty.

I also ordered a shrimp roll (a lot of egg rolls have pork in them.)

This is where things get weird.

One of my friends bit into her egg roll and said she tasted cinnamon in it. We wondered if it were merely a fluke.

I tried the shrimp roll.

Same story: somehow, for some reason, the egg rolls had cinnamon in them.

Needless to say, the cinnamon did not in any way enhance the flavor, and I ended up wasting a shrimp roll that cost $1.10.

Whereas I adore cream cheese wontons, I also prefer them sweet. The ones from this establishment were unfortunately not as sweet as I like, so that also disappointed me.

Has anyone else ever encountered weird egg rolls before?

Let the blogosphere know!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2010 in food

 

2 responses to “Good Chinese Food with Weird Egg Rolls: The Story of the Ozark Adventure

  1. Doc

    May 16, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice – not sure what they use, but I have encountered this phenomenon before, though I didn’t find it distasteful. The application of soy and duck sauce helps considerably!

     
    • enamouredslave

      May 19, 2010 at 2:41 am

      I don’t know, maybe the cinnamon they used in this case was excessive or just outright rancid, but it didn’t add to the flavor.

       

Leave a Reply

 
