RSS

Breakfast at Poppy’s

10 Jun

When I was a kid,  I (and later my brother), for several years, would go with my father to my grandfather’s house in the morning before school and have breakfast with him and my father.

We affectionately called him, "Poppy," which was a play on the "Papa Harris" that we normally said.

The breakfast we had was one of the oddest sorts, especially for a six-year-old. Bacon and coffee.

I am not joking or exaggerating by any means.

Poppy always had several pieces of bacon ready for us, and I took milk and sugar in my coffee. This doesn’t sound like much, but believe me, it was a delicious breakfast, even if it was somewhat unhealthy.

I can’t remember how much sugar I took in my coffee, but I think my dad always limited me to like two spoonfuls; in retrospect, that was a good idea.

The whole issue of drinking coffee began when I would wake up early in the morning, around 5 or so, and go sit with my father in his chair and watch early morning TV. My father, without fail, takes his coffee with cream and sugar.

To this day, I can take coffee black, blonde, blonde and sweet, hot, cold, just about any way.

However, I do not eat bacon for obvious reasons.

Anyone in the South can also tell you that food at a grandparent’s house is almost always better than anywhere else, and the tradition of breakfast at Poppy’s is no different.

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 10, 2010 in food

 

6 responses to “Breakfast at Poppy’s

  1. Shawn Schulman

    June 13, 2010 at 8:21 am

    Yes, I sat at this same table with Papa Harris. With Grandmother Harris wearing a path in the linoleum in front of the stove to the sink and freezer, I knew not to get in the way. Not only was she cooking bacon and keeping the coffee going, she was cooking the best eggs and grits you could imagine to go with that bacon.
    The coffee with all that sugar and milk was almost like a hot milkshake. I, like you, don’t so much have any of that anymore, but I sure remember it like it was yesterday.
    Kudos to you and this fine memory of my grandparents and uncle.

     
    • enamouredslave

      June 13, 2010 at 5:03 pm

      Thanks a lot; I’m glad others of us have the memories of being there, enjoying those blissful days. Wait until I put the blog up about the Sunday Lunch; that’s gonna be a doozy to write but tons of fun!

       
  2. vantilden

    July 17, 2010 at 6:03 am

    you drank coffee as a kid? yes…very strange tastes…

     
    • enamouredslave

      September 27, 2010 at 8:34 pm

      Oh, yes. I loved coffee, then and even now.

       

Leave a Reply

 
