RSS

Birthday Dinner, Part One

11 Jun

Wow-za! Without telling you how old I am now, I will tell you that recently I celebrated my birthday. As with many things in my life, the birthday dinner was a haphazard decision made by other people for my life. So be it, I guess- at any rate, the dinner did turn out to be delicious.

The first idea that came was for a vegetarian five-cheese lasagna. To this was added apple pie, as I’m not a huge fan of cake. Side dishes included an idea for mini-quiche and brussel sprouts and perhaps garlic toast. Not the world’s most organized menu, but we were working within the span of a few hours.

Also, the menu actually evolved into something different, so don’t worry about hearing the odd combination of food.

The side soon became olives, corn nuggets, garlic toast, and a dip with pretzels- much better.

Caleb was hard at work making the apple pie when Katie and Hurricane Tracy showed up. Tracy’s critique of Caleb’s work led her and Katie to immediately jump in and go to work on the food. The recipe for lasagna was actually her recipe, so it helped that the expert was making it.

The making of the crust…

The apples, being cut up.

At this point, Hurricane Tracy took charge and finished making the pie.

The pie, with a bow on top, ready to be baked.

And the finished apple pie, which was totally delicious!

I know this blog has been late in coming, but I had some technical difficulties with uploading the pictures. Part 2 should come a lot faster!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2010 in food

 

2 responses to “Birthday Dinner, Part One

  1. vantilden

    July 17, 2010 at 6:01 am

    pretty pie!

    you dont like cake OR watermelon? you have seriously strange tastes lol.

     
    • enamouredslave

      September 27, 2010 at 8:34 pm

      These days, cake is a bit too sweet for me. The last few times I’ve eaten it, my stomach hurt. Too much sugar is an overload to the system at 25.

       

Leave a Reply

 
