RSS

Chili

14 Oct

As a child, I boldly claimed that chili was my favorite food, with pizza only coming in as a close second. The chili in question was typically dumped from a can, as so many foods are these days.

However, I had the pleasure of rejuvenating chili my family had made the other night by adding ingredients to it. The chili, almost being gone, had a can of tomato sauce and a can of diced tomatos added to it, along with chili powder, hot sauce, MSG (I know, I know), garlic, and a seafood seasoning.

The result? A spicy dish that dances on the tastebuds.

Morning Star Crumbles would have made the chili absolutely divine!

I’m not exactly sure what kind of beans we used, only that they ended up, sadly, undercooked.

The best additions to chili that I have found are crackers and cheese. A bowl full of it is a hearty meal, especially in cold weather, and with all the spices in it, one’s sinuses will be cleared up in absolutely no time!

Normally, I also add profuse amounts of chopped onions and bell pepper, but I was tired this time around.

What do you like in your chili?

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2010 in food

 

6 responses to “Chili

  1. Doc

    October 14, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    My favorite thing to put in chili is – A SPOON! Seriously, I do crackers, cheese and chopped onions. Meanwhile, if you’re interested in trying a good vegetarian chili mix, see if you can find Fantastic Foods Vegetarian Chili – zesty! Just add a couple cans of the beans of your choice (I go with kidney beans and black beans, usually) and a can of chopped stewed tomatoes (or, again, your tomato preference), and follow the directions – delicious!

     
    • enamouredslave

      October 26, 2010 at 10:09 pm

      Chili is one of the perfect foods for cold weather. Almost any kind of soup or stew seems to work well when it gets cold outside. Thankfully, recently it’s been warmer.

       
  2. vantilden

    October 18, 2010 at 2:06 am

    i put msg in everything too.

    it:s called aji no moto here…..and that:s how they think of it too.

    it is just *taste* in a bottle. .

    a lot of companies put it in their products too.

     
    • enamouredslave

      October 26, 2010 at 10:08 pm

      MSG tastes so good, and after doing research, I found out that it isn’t really bad for you like people once thought.

       
  3. Doc

    October 25, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    MSG is just a flavor enhancer – I don’t know that it has any flavor of its own, though a friend of mine tried some right out of the bottle, and went “BLEH!” Maybe that’s what the inside of his mouth tasted like?

     
    • enamouredslave

      October 26, 2010 at 10:05 pm

      Well, I’ve tasted MSG myself- and it tastes like pure savoriness.

       

Leave a Reply

 
