RSS

Substitution City

17 Oct

The combined power of goldenrod and the likely culprit of the cold virus have together rendered me moderately sick for the past few days. However, with the support of friends and family and a little of my own quick-wit, I’ve managed to challenge the sickness back to some degree or another.

Enter my mock-Asian soup.

Using 2 cups of water and a cube of vegetable stock, I created a delicious base for a most healthy soup.

Add to this a few more ingredients:

-garlic

-soy sauce

-ginger

-hot sauce

-onion powder

-MSG (definitely optional, even though the studies have shown that it’s actually harmless)

and

-vinegar

and the next thing you know, your boiling hot soup will go Chuck Norris on your illness!

So what about the substitution? Well, as I had no wontons, I had to become creative, and I found that corn chips work just a well as wontons. Call it innovation, call it ghetto-fabulous, but the effect is a delicious one that gives a little bit of a solidity to the soup.

Remember, when in doubt, try creative substitutions- you may well be on your way to becoming the next Racheal Ray.

Sorry for the lack of photos in this blog, but honestly, the soup was so amazing that I didn’t have time to take a picture of it!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2010 in food

 

4 responses to “Substitution City

  1. vantilden

    October 18, 2010 at 2:01 am

    im impressed with your choice of ingredients. youve made asian soups a time or two i see 😉

    msg is awesomeness in its pure form

     
    • Project Van

      October 22, 2010 at 6:23 am

      i just want to see if my pic comes up when i reply lol

       
    • enamouredslave

      October 26, 2010 at 10:09 pm

      My Asian soups really helped during my sick times. The only thing that could have improved them would be something like udon…I happen to adore udon in a way that I can’t properly express to you.

       

Leave a Reply

 
