RSS

The Hot Toddy

25 Oct

Thanks to Tyler, during the course of my sickness I was introduced to something known as a "hot toddy." The hot toddy definitely helped me in the middle of my cold last week!

I had never heard of this concoction before, but I’m SO glad he told me about it.

Essentially, a hot toddy is a beverage warmed that contains alcohol. The actual recipes for hot toddies vary greatly, but the one in particular I used consisted of sweet tea, whiskey, and vinegar, though honey was also recommended.

Not normally drinking alcohol, I didn’t realize the strength that whiskey has. However, I did feel better, and while the whiskey’s effects were going on, the burning nasal passages weren’t nearly such an issue.

In the end, I had two or three hot toddies total over the course of two nights. Warm beverages help to loosen up congestion, and whiskey and vinegar help to kill the infection.

Bear in mind, though, that too much alcohol can actually lower the immune system, so proceed with caution. Otherwise, feel free to enjoy it!

If you can’t have alcohol, I’m not sure what I woudl suggest to you in place of it. The vinegar still works wonders!

Apparently, as my father did some kind of investigation, one is only supposed to use Apple Cider Vinegar in the hot toddy. We only had white vinegar at our disposal, so white vinegar went into my drinks. How my father knew about the Apple Cider Vinegar in my alcoholic beverage will just remain his little secret, I suppose.

This blog was a long-time in coming, apparently, but I had forgotten that I had written it and have been away from my computer. Luckily, you all get to enjoy it now!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 25, 2010 in food

 

4 responses to “The Hot Toddy

  1. Doc

    October 25, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    There are many recipes for the “traditional” hot toddy; there are also many applications for which it may be used. If you use enough whiskey, you end up not caring much whether it works on your cold, or even if you HAVE a cold! If you’re doing without alcohol, a hot (meaning warmed up, not just without ice) Coke, Diet Coke, Dr Pepper or other favorite soda with a healthy dose of lemon juice will help. Heated lemonade is helpful, as well.

     
    • enamouredslave

      October 26, 2010 at 10:06 pm

      Many years ago, I did have hot Dr. Pepper with lemon, which seemed to help at the time.

       
  2. Project Van

    October 25, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    i gargled some vinegar grape juice when i had a sore throat and it seemed to help. i love vinegar.

     
    • enamouredslave

      October 26, 2010 at 10:05 pm

      Vinegar is certainly a delicious, nutritious gift straight from Heaven.

       

Leave a Reply

 
