RSS

The Remarkably Bad Idea of Deep Frying Cheez-Its

25 Oct

Friday night saw us getting ready for Saturday night’s Halloween party. The process included carving jack-o’-lanterns, which actually all turned out pretty nifty. Tyler and I carved a panda (actually, he did most of the carving, and I helped scoop out pumpkin seeds), Jessi and Nathan carved a beer mug, Kimberly carved the words FIGHT CLUB, and Philip carved a traditional scary face.

All the while, Kimberly and I shared a bottle of wine, which quickly became two bottles of wine. Somehow, I easily forget that I’m a light-weight, and I drank more than I should have.

At some point, in our excitement of discussing religion and life, I had the not-so-bright idea of frying cheez-its. After all, I had purchased a box of cheez-its, and I really do love them. Kimberly immediately jumped on the idea, and before we knew it, the cheesy goodness had been battered, fried, and served.

The problem: they ended up tasting like burnt cheez-its. In other words, it wasn’t a good idea and didn’t amount to very much.  In more other words: frying something that’s allegedly already been fried does not work so well.

At the same time, good came from the situation, as I learned that cheez-its are a great thing to use for the actual breading of something. Can you imagine breading chicken in cheez-its and what that might taste like? I bet it would be amazing. Sadly, my pesco-vegetarian self will not be partaking of that dish, but it’s still an idea.

Also, cheez-its are likely a great topping for casseroles. I’ll try to experiment with some of these ideas and get back to everyone on them.

Remember to go easy on the wine if you’re a light-weight! It may not burn like whiskey or rum, but it can still create strange ideas like frying cheez-its!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 25, 2010 in food

 

4 responses to “The Remarkably Bad Idea of Deep Frying Cheez-Its

  1. Project Van

    October 25, 2010 at 10:19 pm

    lol they say frying some bizarre things actuallly is good.

    i woulda thought if you were drunk it woulda still tasted ok hahaha

     
    • enamouredslave

      October 26, 2010 at 10:04 pm

      Well, I wasn’t drunk; maybe a little buzzed, but it was enough to where obviously I wasn’t thinking as clearly as I could have. Other people have told me that burnt cheez-its are actually the best ones.

       
  2. Project Van

    October 25, 2010 at 11:59 pm

    oh yeah i put you on my blog roll 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
