RSS

The Unremarkable Grilled Cheese

27 Oct

Some friends and I went to eat out at a place called Country’s BBQ on a Sunday. The experience was incredibly pleasant, even if the food in question was not the best ever.

The best part of the food experience was definitely the fried pickles. If you’ve never had fried pickles dipped in ranch dressing, you have not lived and are not allowed to die until you try them. The hot chocolate, too, was good, but I could’ve done a better job.

I ordered a grilled cheese sandwich and hot chocolate, which wasn’t a mistake- I do love grilled cheese- but what came was something of a disappointment.

The plate had a slice of processed cheese between two slices of processed bread that had been fried, with two pickles to garnish it. Now, it tasted okay, but…call me fancy, call me uppity, or call me just plain tasteful, but seriously? I could have made a better grilled cheese than that.

Correction: I have made better grilled cheese than that. I could open my own chain of grilled cheese stands and slowly take over the world through my culinary abilities rather than be the victim of half-hearted cooking!

To add insult to injury, only a few days ago Tyler had made the best grilled cheese sandwiches composed of crusty French bread, cheddar cheese, and monterey jack cheese, and my friend Caleb has made delicious grilled cheese for months and months now, so let’s just say I’m slightly biased and have a "sensitive palate" when it comes to this particular cuisine.

The fried pickles redeemed the restaurant in my opinion, and I can’t make any accurate commentary on their BBQ, which everyone seemed to enjoy.

I did have some French fries, which were said to be home-cut, and they were seasoned really well. Normally "home-cut" French fries means nasty chunks of undercooked potatoes that Southerners like to pretend taste better than fast-food French fries. In this case, it worked!

I’ll have to have someone guest-blog and commentate on the actual BBQ of the restaurant.

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2010 in food

 

5 responses to “The Unremarkable Grilled Cheese

  1. Grif Morpeth

    October 27, 2010 at 9:34 am

    I have to admit, our grill cheese is very “basic”. I’ll have to work on that.
    Enjoyed your blog!

    Grif Morpeth
    Countrys Barbecue Inc.

     
    • enamouredslave

      October 27, 2010 at 12:28 pm

      I have the utmost of faith that you create a most superior grilled cheese sandwich, especially since the fried pickles and French fries were so delectable, and even though I didn’t have the club sandwich, everyone who did remarked at how Country’s has the best club sandwich in town!

       
  2. Project Van

    October 27, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    well some folks might prefer the basic taste…when you grow up on something a certain way you tend to crave it that way, so it:s hard to say. course most people can make their own basic style, but not all, and certainly not all the time.

    i guess it would depend on what kind of crowd you draw, whether to make an at-home kind of sandwich or a more adventurous type.

    or if the grilled cheese were an important menu item, then perhaps two types would be good to have.

    stevo-kun, you are a natural gourmet 🙂

     
    • enamouredslave

      October 28, 2010 at 1:45 am

      I think it has to do with the quality of ingredients, too. Processed foods almost never taste as good as real varieties. So even preparing French bread and slicing pieces of hoop cheese is superior to using pre-sliced, processed white bread and a Kraft’s single.

       
      • Project Van

        October 28, 2010 at 2:48 am

        i tend to like process cheese myself. for some things anyhow. it is gooier and doesnt harden as fast. i bet velveta would make a killer grilled cheese.
        but to be honest i never tried it with real cheese. i love melty cheese best.

         

Leave a Reply

 
