RSS

Fried Jalapeño Poppers and Pepper Jelly in the Deep South

30 Oct

Last week definitely busted my ignorance about Alabama’s reality. Whether the urban-ish area of Dothan had fooled me or not, I came to discover that small towns are more so the rule and not the exception of Alabama. That’s okay, though.

The lot of us were going to meet with Kimberly’s husband and decided to stop and eat at a small restaurant there. Naturally, most of the food was inedible to me, so I ordered the jalapeño poppers, which have been a favorite food of mine for the past year or so.

Not only did they bring me a plate full of the poppers, it also came with a small cup of pepper jelly. Pepper jelly will have to be a blog of its own, but let’s just say it’s one of the best-kept secrets of the South.

Jalapeño poppers consist of jalapeño peppers stuffed with cream cheese, then battered and fried. The resulting flavor is sweet, savory, and spicy, a combination that can’t be beat. Honestly, it’s like eating deep-fried crack- they’re that addictive.

Those poppers were literally the best I’ve ever had, and I’ve never had the opportunity to dip them in pepper jelly before, but WOW is all I can say! I’ll always be on the hunt for pepper jelly now when I eat poppers.

The only complaint I can make about said jalapeño poppers is that they used whole pieces of peppers instead of cutting them up and having them spread throughout the cream cheese. This made the consumption experience a tad bit awkward, where the initial bite led to eating a whole piece of a pepper, followed by eating the cream cheese and battered part together.

As a side note, the proper pronunciation of "jalapeño" sounds like "hah-lah-PEH-nyoh," even though I frequently hear people say it "hah-lah-PEE-nah" for some God unknown reason. But hey, I guess that’s better than someone saying "juh-LAHP-eh-noh."

Again, if you run into some poppers- I highly recommend trying them. In a blog soon, I’ll likely post my own variety of the recipe; we’ll see how that turns out!

Beaux

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Powered by Qumana

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 30, 2010 in food

 

2 responses to “Fried Jalapeño Poppers and Pepper Jelly in the Deep South

  1. Project Van

    November 4, 2010 at 2:27 am

    i have never even heard of them! that sounds rather good….

     
    • enamouredslave

      November 4, 2010 at 1:38 pm

      Really? They’re a little more uncommon, but the South loves to deep-fry anything, including Twinkies and ice cream.

       

Leave a Reply

 
