RSS

The Birthday Luau

10 Nov

A few days ago we celebrated my new friend Philip’s 21st birthday. The plan all along had been to have a surprise party for him; he was under the impression that he was simply going to have dinner with us. A luau theme was chosen, and the party happened to coincide with a fairly cold day, making the luau theme even more welcomed to keep us mentally warm.

Being the procrastinator that I am and having an unusual block in my creativity rendered me unable to think of what to prepare for the dinner. The last minute idea was somewhat okay, but in the meantime, allow me to tell you about the real stars of the party.

First up, Nathan made ribs. Everyone praised these ribs as though they had never eaten a bite of food before. I could only vicariously understand the sheer happiness they were in, but suffice it to say that everyone had consumed it all within minutes.

Behold, the ribs!




Nathan’s BBQ sauce that was eventually poured onto the ribs.

In the midst of all the excitement and confusion, I unfortunately did not solicit the actual recipe that Nathan uses; however, I can likely obtain it with his permission!

Next, we have Tyler with his macaroni and cheese. I had been told that the mac-n-cheese was so good that it would bring me to tears. That didn’t quite happen, but admittedly, the mac-n-cheese was pretty good. He used Monterey Jack (I think) along with some secret ingredients that I can’t quite reveal here. Afterwards, he baked the mac-n-cheese.



The dish turned out creamy and delicious. I declared that it was almost as good as my own macaroni and cheese, so a friendly little bet was started about the superiority of mac-n-cheese.

Next, we have the amazingly creative cake that Jessy baked, the crown jewel of the dinner!



The cake mimics a miniature beach, though the picture doesn’t do justice. Jessy creatively used graham cracker on top of the buttercream frosting to create the sand-like effect. Gummy Lifesavers actually ended up mimicking lifesavers! Strips of fruit-rollups made towels in the sand. The paper umbrella was definitely my favorite. I have no idea why I love paper umbrellas, but I do think they’re cool.



The completed cake featured miniature bottles of alcohol to mimic bottles thrown onto the beach. Seriously, the pictures don’t do this any kind of justice.

The cake was chocolate on the inside with a buttercream frosting that a particular sort of citrus flavor, though I can’t remember exactly what all was in it. Either way, it complemented the meal perfectly! Too bad I only had a small bite of the cake (literally.) But that one bite was absolute unadulterated bliss!

As for my own meager dish, I baked pineapple with cinnamon and red pepper flakes on it to go with the meal. This tasted really good with the macaroni and cheese, but on its own wasn’t very good. Everyone else seemed to enjoy it, though.




Likely I could have done better with making grilled pineapple, but I was pressed for time. Oh, darn you, character flaws…

In the end, Philip was very happy when he found out that he was having a party after all, and we spent most of the night playing RockBand. All in all, it was a good but tiring day with plenty of great Hawaiian food done Southern style.

Beaux


 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 10, 2010 in food

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Birthday Luau

  1. Project Van

    November 10, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    sounds like a blast!!! ahhh 21st bday! how nice!

     

Leave a Reply

 
