RSS

Restaurant Review: Chili’s!

18 Nov

Last night we went out to eat for Kimpher’s birthday. Overall, the dinner was fun, and the restaurant experience was a little better than the past few times I’ve eaten out.

I ordered the grilled salmon, which came with rice and broccoli. We did wait a long time for the meal (or so it seemed), but the restaurant was fairly busy, and this was understandable.

My food arrived, looking quite pretty. However…



The salmon was, well…rather bland and in some places slightly dry. I love to cook with spices, as many of you know, and the salmon tasted like someone had just cooked it and placed it on my plate. Not a lot of flavor to it.

The rice was fairly decent, and as odd as this may sound, the broccoli was actually the best tasting thing on my plate- flavorful and rich. Can you even imagine how weird it feels to tell you that I liked the broccoli more than the rice and fish?

This resulted in my putting salt, pepper, and ketchup on my salmon, which is a strange affair. Certainly it didn’t taste worse for it!

In this case, the best part the night was our server- she was friendly, upbeat, highly attentive, and was totally on top of things. She brought everyone refills the moment she noticed were running low on drinks, and a few times, people ordered additional food to the original order, and she got it all right out to us.

Even though the menu at Chili’s is certainly lacking for someone of my tastes as a pesco-vegetarian, I did find a few items that looked delicious, and one of my friends ordered the spinach artichoke dip, which we tried later back at his house. Absolutely taste-bud blowing!

While I can’t say that the grilled salmon is always like this, it definitely wasn’t as impressive as some of the fish I’ve personally made, and I likely won’t be ordering it again.

Food: Sub-par but with redeeming qualities
Service: Best I’ve had in a LONG time!
Grade: Slight smiley face 🙂

Beaux


 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 18, 2010 in food

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Restaurant Review: Chili’s!

  1. Project Van

    November 21, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    i havent really concentrated on cooking fish much since VS hates it. i love it myself but i just dont have much enthusiasm when it comes to my own food odd as that sounds.

    my laziness wins out when it:s my own food.

    i would love to try your salmon!

     

Leave a Reply

 
