RSS

Poppy and the Lazy Susan Table: Part 1

29 Nov

“Forgive us our sins and accept our thanks, for these and all other blessings. In Christ’s Name, Amen.”

My grandfather, Henry Grady Harris, said this prayer every Sunday before my extended family would eat. Affectionately, my brother and I, along with some of the other descendants, referred to him as “Poppy.”

“Poppy” is an evolved form of “Papa Harris,” as all my grandparents were addressed by the name Papa or Mama and their last names.

Considering Poppy’s table prayer, as it has been dubbed, I decided to finally recall some of my earlier memories and speak about my childhood and also to start my blog on religion.

Poppy was a huge part of my life for the first 10 years, and since I’m only 25 at the time of this writing, you can imagine the influence and legacy that he has left with me.

For the first five or so years of my life, I was raised Southern Baptist, and my family attended the First Baptist Church of Slocomb. Immediately after church, we would drive to Poppy’s House and eat Sunday Lunch with my extended family.

We stopped going to church when I was around five for reasons that I still have not understood, but we continued to go to Poppy’s each Sunday to eat lunch.

The interesting aspect of this lunch was the table around which we ate our meal. The Lazy Susan Table or Turning Table is the most unique thing that I can remember about Poppy’s house; I’ve never seen a table like it before or since.

Doing some research, apparently other Lazy Susan Tables exist, but none of them that I’ve see are quite the same, and for the era in which this table arose, I think it’s quite unique.

Thanks to my Uncle Jerry and my Aunt Era Jo’s combined efforts, I’ve managed to obtain not only the history of the Lazy Susan Table but also a good number of photos, both from Poppy’s house and at Uncle Jerry’s house where the table now resides.




Until I saw the pictures, I had forgotten about it, but on the Lazy Susan, they would place small pads wrapped in some kind of foil to place the hot dishes on.

Another thing, as you can see in the picture, is that every Sunday lunch brought with it massive amounts of food. There was almost always still food on the stove, and to date, Poppy’s peach cobbler is the best I’ve eaten. The above picture was taken in 1983, two years before I was born.

Among the staple foods that I can personally remember that Poppy invariably made were rice, mashed potatoes, biscuits, fried corn bread, and roast with gravy. There was also always sweet tea. Speaking of sweet tea, I learned to put lemon juice in mine because that’s what Poppy did.

I also remember that on more than one occasion, we children would break a glass or knock it off the table. Invariably we would cry, and Poppy would say, “Don’t cry, it’s only a glass. At least you didn’t get hurt!”





Above, you can see Poppy with his glass of iced tea…and the conspicuous bottle of lemon juice sitting near him. I think this was on Christmas Day. Another picture of him wearing the same shirt is marked “Christmas Day.”

Because this subject is so large, I’ll be writing multiple blogs on it. I’m sure my family members will be able to supply me with bits and pieces that I’ve missed in here, and I’ll more than gladly add them in the new blogs!

In Part 2, I’m going to cover the actual history of the Lazy Susan Table and how it came to be in our family. Don’t miss it!

Beaux


 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2010 in food

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Poppy and the Lazy Susan Table: Part 1

  1. Aunt Era Jo

    January 4, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    Stephen II, You did a great job. How do I get to part 2?

     
    • enamouredslave

      January 4, 2011 at 3:30 pm

      I haven’t posted it yet, but I’ll let you know!

       
  2. The Onyx Plate

    January 4, 2011 at 6:43 pm

    So….two things my friend…Do you have the Peach Cobbler recipe, and are you willing to share it? Ok, so maybe three…Can you possibly imagine this lazy susan table filled to the brim with all kinds of Sushi!!??

    Isn’t it great how pictures can bring memories flooding back to you?

     
    • enamouredslave

      January 4, 2011 at 6:49 pm

      I don’t have the recipe, but I’m almost certain that someone in my family has a recipe or something like it that I can post on here, and if I do come across it, I’ll most certainly post.

      The Lazy Susan Table would be AMAZING if it were filled with sushi…it reminds of the kaiten sushi in Japan.

       
      • The Onyx Plate

        January 4, 2011 at 6:56 pm

        Never been to Japan, but I will take your word for it…do they have a table like that at that Sushi place?

        I have my Maw-Maw’s Peach Cobbler recipe on my blog, I wonder if they are similar. I guess we will see. 🙂

         
  3. william e. harris ll

    January 5, 2011 at 8:10 am

    I guess I ate as many meals around that table as Uncle Henry’s family. I only see one odvious thing missing and that is the old style coffee pot always perking on top of the stove an all the wonderful people who used to be there.

     
    • enamouredslave

      January 5, 2011 at 1:45 pm

      Hmm, when I was little, I don’t remember seeing the coffee pot like that there. I do remember always having coffee with Poppy in the morning when I went there as a kid.

       
  4. Uncle Jerry

    January 27, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    Great Job……

     

Leave a Reply

 
