RSS

Evil Fruitcake from Wal-mart vs. Good Fruitcake from Friends

13 Dec

Friday night, I bought several groceries, including a fruitcake.

I’m absolutely nuts about fruitcake (pun entirely intended.)

To my disappointment, the fruitcake didn’t taste so hot. In an effort to not waste food, I continued eating it over the next few days.

Sunday, the cake, which actually tasted better, turned my stomach upside-down and decided it would rather stay outside of me than inside.

That’s fine, though; that fruitcake was disgusting and over-priced.

Enter my friends. Nathan, with Tyler’s help, had whipped up a real fruitcake.

The real fruitcake contained ginger, which was immensely and potently and happily helpful.

The real fruitcake tasted delicious- each bite was different but had a certain similarity to it. I think it was akin to eating a song. Only music could possibly taste that good.

So my words of wisdom for the day: eat fruitcake that’s homemade, not fruitcake that’s store-bought.

Beaux


 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2010 in food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Evil Fruitcake from Wal-mart vs. Good Fruitcake from Friends

  1. CultureChoc2010

    December 13, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    I make a white chocolate fruitcake every year. It’s really good.

     
    • enamouredslave

      December 13, 2010 at 7:54 pm

      That sounds really, really good. When I was a kid, I didn’t care for white chocolate so much, but now that I’m older, I sing a much different tune.

       
  2. Lizzy

    December 14, 2010 at 6:09 am

    I love the “it’s like eating a song”. That just made my day.

     

Leave a Reply

 
