RSS

Christmas Memories

21 Dec

Every year, I seem to be sick around Christmas. Okay, well, at least I know for sure that happened two or three times.

Somehow illness befall me last year on both Thanksgiving and Christmas. I can’t remember Christmas Eve at all, and I was absolutely miserable on Christmas.

But I digress.

Christmas is a huge holiday for me, or at least historically it has been, especially since my reversion to a (extremely mystically) Christian orientation on things.

When I was a kid, Christmas fascinated me, especially things such as Christmas tree lights. I also remember that we had a huge star with golden tinsel and a Santa face on it. The Santa face was pretty ugly, and eventually, with my family’s permission, I ripped his face off, and the star was just a star.

Seeing trees with anything but a star on top always evoked outrage in me. Who would be stupid enough to put up a tree without a star, I always wondered.

Another thing that irked me as a child were non-colored lights on a Christmas tree. Seriously, I wondered why anyone would have non-colored lights.

Now that I’m older, I naturally have no problem with various kinds of trees and their differences. Using a bit of imagination and color coordination, you can create a fantastic presentation of a tree. White trees especially are good to use, for colored lights show up on them like it’s nobody’s business.

My aunt, Mimi, always had candle-lights that she put in her windows. They were a deep red color, and they always reminded me of being burned because I touched one when I was little and it really, really hurt. I learned not to do that again but still loved the glow of the candles in the windows.

Also when I was little, we decorated cookies with red and green sprinkles. One time we even made snow-man cookies. I remember my brother coming into the bathroom while I was in the tub to ask me what I wanted on my snowman so he could go back and tell my mom. Those snowman cookies were so good, too.

Another big part of Christmas for me has been holiday specials. A Garfield Christmas, a Charlie Brown Christmas, ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas- these were the essentials. I watched the old claymation Rudolph but never really liked it as much. For a while, my obsession with The Nightmare Before Christmas would have seen me watching it as well, but somehow the movie had more of a ring with Halloween for me than Christmas.

I also remember that my maternal grandparents were at my house on Christmas morning, without fail, then we go to Mimi’s house, and then my immediate family would go to my paternal grandparents’ house. Later on, my paternal grandparents’ house is where we would celebrate Thanksgiving, and Mimi’s house is where we would celebrate Christmas.

My maternal grandparents lived in the northern part of the state but would come down to visit during the Winter Holidays because my aunt and my mother would be out of school and could more easily host them. My grandparents would stay a few days with each daughter, then move on to the next one’s house. I was always excited when they came, and to this day I can see in myself a huge degree of my grandmother’s temperament- for the most part, very easy-going, very content, very quiet, very reserved.

One Christmas Eve, my grandparents had not arrived- and I extremely upset about it. I can’t even remember how old I was, only that I was extremely upset about their not being there.

All that being said, I would like to direct everyone to the cartoon, ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas.


Beaux


 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 21, 2010 in food

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Christmas Memories

  1. Babygirl

    December 22, 2010 at 2:20 am

    Very cool post

     
  2. The Onyx Plate

    December 29, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    I enjoyed this post. Brings back memories as well, especially about the star! Speaking of “southern” items…my Maw-Maw makes the absolute most beautiful bows, and she has taught me how to make them. So, instead of a star on top nowadays, we make large bows with long tendrils that start at the bow on top and drape all along and through the tree branches. Makes a very classy southern tree…

     
    • enamouredslave

      December 30, 2010 at 8:04 pm

      That does sound lovely, especially now that I’m older and can appreciate said variation of Christmas tree toppings. But as a child, I was pretty adamant that one had a star or one was a complete and other heathen.

       

Leave a Reply

 
