RSS

Volcanic Molten Chocolate Christmas Eve Microwave Hatred

24 Dec

Several blogs earlier, I mentioned the Winter phenomenon of making coffee with hot chocolate in it. Most people in the real world would call that a “mocha,” but I figured calling coffee with a packet of powdered hot chocolate in it a “mocha” would be stretching the definition and challenging the Kitchen gods in an unhealthy way.

I’ve spent the past week or so in Troy because of a series of miscommunications and mishaps, but all in all, it’s been a wonderful time; no complaints here. Today I returned to my parents’ house.

Most of the day, I slept.

Then, once wakeful, I decided to make a cup of hot co-coffee. The coffee pot was off, so I guessed I would have to warm it up in the microwave, and we had milk in the fridge, so I said, what the hell?

Little did I know that Hell would soon be answering my rhetorical question.

I poured some milk into the cocoa/coffee mix, and I popped in the microwave for a minute. When I checked on it, the concoction wasn’t hot enough, so I popped it in for another minute.

This was a mistake.

What had been an innocuous attempt to make a decent cup of coffee resulted in Hell breaking loose in a volcanic eruption of chocolate lava and steam in the confines of my microwave.

The chocolatey magma in the microwave did cause it to smell festive.

Behold! The chocolate doom of darkness! Indeed it attempted to eat the microwave!

This wasn’t nearly as difficult to clean up as you would imagine, and it wasn’t a terrible loss, but I had to use the last packet of hot chocolate to make the next cup.

Beaux


 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2010 in food

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Volcanic Molten Chocolate Christmas Eve Microwave Hatred

  1. Project Van

    December 24, 2010 at 11:39 pm

    i did that exact same thing just the other day

    and dunno if you saw the purple sweet potato vlog or not but i put one of those in the microwave without poking holes in it coz i was lazy and ended up having to spend way more time cleaning up splattered purple mush from the miscrowave insides than poking a hole woulda taken..

    it was pretty though…all purple and such

     
    • enamouredslave

      December 24, 2010 at 11:44 pm

      Hmm, no, I didn’t see that vlog- I was catching up on them recently, so it’s weird that I missed that one. I’ll get around to it, though…I don’t like the idea of having to clean up purple anything. It seems like such an unnatural color for a food.

       
  2. Project Van

    December 24, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    oh yeah and i have put cocoa in coffee before too! yum 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
