RSS

Poached Eggs: The Response

04 Jan

Fellow blogger the Onyx Plate asked recently about poached eggs and how good they are.

So I’ll give a full and generous response here.

Poached eggs are truly an art form. They aren’t difficult to make- but mastering them is the true test of one’s culinary skills.

First, I love eggs, in almost any form. Boiled eggs are my least favorite form, though they can be used to make egg salad, which I do enjoy. They can also be used to make deviled eggs.

But why poached eggs?

I had never eaten poached eggs until last March, and I wasn’t totally sure about having a poached egg because in mind, a runny egg meant an uncooked egg. That isn’t the reality of the situation, though, and I’ve eaten many poached eggs, never once actually become sick from them.

The ultimate determinant of a poached egg, for me, is how much vinegar is used in the water. Vinegar is primarily a bonding agent for the eggs, making sure to keep them together. The more vinegar you add, the better tasting the egg is, at least to me.

The concept isn’t ultimately to have the best looking egg at the end, though the aesthetic aspect of food is a concept for a completely differently blog. The concept is that ultimately, you’re going to take your fork and break open the poached egg on a piece of toast and eat the entire dripping mess.

A poached egg basically works like this:

  • the poached egg itself
  • the butter
  • the toast
  • the spices

The spices that can be used for a poached egg are typically salt, pepper, and maybe garlic powder. Toast should be made of a thick, crusty bread, and you should slather it with butter. If you can’t get all the butter to melt, don’t worry. The heat from the egg will do the trick.

Another good topping I’ve found is mock hollandaise sauce. Typically I make this by combining

  • butter
  • mayonnaise
  • lemon juice

You can play with the actual amounts of the ingredients there.

Also, if you really like poached eggs, you may want to always be prepare two. I find that I always want two, no matter what.

And now for a semi-funny story.

After I made a poached egg for my friend Caleb (who does not like eggs), he declared it to be delicious.

Thereafter, I received a phone call late one night.

Caleb: “I need help.”

Me: “With what?”

Caleb: “I tried to make a poached egg and it died.”

Me: “It died?

Caleb: “Yes.”

So then I walked Caleb through the exact steps of making a poached egg, which resulted in success.

He also gained the ability to make prettier poached eggs than I, but he has the distinct advantage of cooking over a gas-lit stove. To read my blog about the preference of gas stoves, you can go here and check it out.

If I can actually find someone to record the video, I’ll do a vlog on the making of poached eggs soon.

Beaux


 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2011 in food

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Poached Eggs: The Response

  1. The Onyx Plate

    January 4, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    Thank you for the answer! This was done on an episode I just caught of Worst Cooks in America. Now, I am amazed that vinegar is used. I’m glad you told me this, or I would be cracking eggs directly into boiling water, and this may have been a completely disasterous post later on. 🙂

    I know I can google it, but I might as well find out directly from the expert…water at a rolling boil? just starting to boil? rapidly boiling?

    And, I guess a thick-cut slice of bread would mean something grand like Texas Toast?

     
    • enamouredslave

      January 4, 2011 at 7:49 pm

      Water that’s just starting to boil seems to be most suitable.

      What happens in temperature too low is that the egg won’t stay together, and the white part will simply dissolve into the water; if the temperature is too high, the white part will congeal before you can coddle it around the yolk, and then it will also flake off and dissolve. Not a pretty sight in either case.

      Texas Toast works. Freshly slice French bread and Italian bread both work. Even an English muffin is a good idea.

       
      • The Onyx Plate

        January 4, 2011 at 8:09 pm

        Hmmmmm…sounds like something I should try. When I try it, I promise to tell you about it via the blog….oh, I’m nervous now to try it.

        Wait…coddle??? Isn’t that what we do to an infant? What could you possibly mean when referring to the egg? I don’t just “drop” it in there? lol

         
  2. gigi

    January 5, 2011 at 6:36 am

    I still have never tried poached eggs, but I am sure they are delicious because every thing that you make is quite good. Laughed out loud about Caleb and his egg that died…..

     
    • enamouredslave

      January 5, 2011 at 6:34 pm

      I can make poached eggs for you that aren’t runny. You can actually poached them long enough to make them almost like boiled eggs. The real difference is the texture.

       

Leave a Reply

 
