RSS

Cookbook Recommendations

19 Jan

Since I reposted Jennifer’s blog on her cookbook collection, I would like to share a particularly favorite Cookbook in my family.

Presenting…


The Better Homes and Gardens: New Cook Book!

This cook book has had an extended hiatus as my friend Caleb’s house. Maw-Maw graciously stored it in a drawer for me, and today I found it and plan to begin making use of it again.

I wish I could start a mission like Julie did in Julie & Julia to cook through all the recipes in the book, but that would require the use of meat.

This particular cookbook has 1400 recipes- yes, 1400- all in all.

I’ve made several of them- or variations of them.

Originally, my mom bought a copy of this cookbook for my aunt, and she liked it so much that she went and bought our family one.

Some of my favorite recipes from the book include the macaroni and cheese dishes.

Another neat thing about the book is that it’s full-color and includes full-color photograph guides of various kinds of foods- charts showing different cuts of meats and different kinds of cheeses, mushrooms, and so forth.

Stuck in front of the recipe book are recipes not included, so I thought I might share them here.

Gigi’s Seasoned Crackers

What you need:

  • 1 box of Saltine crackers
  • 1 1/2 to 2 cups of Canola oil
  • 2 Tablespoons of Red Pepper flakes
  • 1 packet of Ranch Dressing Seasoning Mix

What you do:

  • Mix ingredients together in a plastic bag. Allow the ingredients to sit together overnight, then enjoy. The longer they sit, the better they are.

Warning: These crackers are spicy, very, very, spicy. They’re so spicy, in fact, that you might want to consider not using quite as much of the Red Pepper flakes if you’re not a fan of spice. If you are a fan of the spice, however- I say go for it.

Beaux


 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2011 in food, postaday2011, snacks

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Cookbook Recommendations

  1. gigi

    January 19, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    You can also put some dill weed in these for added flavor and a little cayenne pepper if you so please….Wish I had some made now and ready to eat….

     
  2. The Onyx Plate

    January 19, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    So it’s kind of like a Chex Mix?

    And yes…my very first cookbook after getting engaged was a Better Homes and Gardens Breast Cancer Support Edition. Same exact cookbook, but it was pink…love supporting Breast Cancer, but would have bought it just for it being pink. Yes, I am that girl sometimes.

    I love the pictures that you mentioned. They teach the noob a lot when you actually read through it. I learned a lot about the cuts of meat with this cookbook. Hmmmm…I wonder where my book is, because I don’t think that one was pictured. Goodness…I better find it!

     
    • enamouredslave

      January 19, 2011 at 5:17 pm

      I think the flavors of this recipe pop a little more than Chex Mix. Hypothetically, you could actually use the above ingredients and make your own Chex Mix.

      The recipe turns out tasting like a really flavorful cracker. Somehow, the Saltines are able to absorb the flavors and transform themselves into something great.

       
      • The Onyx Plate

        January 19, 2011 at 7:11 pm

        I’m looking forward to trying it!

         

Leave a Reply

 
