RSS

Cucumber Sandwiches: Today’s Tea Time

20 Jan

The cucumber sandwiches turned out tasting fantastic.

At tea, cucumber sandwiches are one of the major foods traditionally consumed. I researched a few recipes online, both authentic and more innovative, and then I decided to go with my own combination and modifications.

The resulting sandwich recipe is as follows.

What you need:

  • 4 slices of the bread of your choice. I used white bread.
  • 1/2 cucumber, shaved and sliced. A medium size will suffice.
  • 2-3 Tablespoons of Cream Cheese
  • 2-3 teaspoons of Dill Weed
  • 2-3 teaspoons of Paprika

What you do:

  • Combine the Cream Cheese, Dill Weed, and Paprika in a bowl.
  • Spread the mixture on the 4 slices of bread.
  • Place the slices of cucumbers on one side of the bread.
  • Fix the tops together.
  • Take the sandwiches, and using a bread knife (preferably), cut the crusts off carefully.
  • Cut the sandwiches into thirds or fourths.

For the leftovers:

  • Don’t throw those crusts away! Cut them into smaller pieces, put them in a small tupperware bowl, add salt, pepper, and a little olive oil.
  • Close the bowl, and shake the contents up really well.
  • Next time you need croutons, pop them out and into the oven for about 10 minutes, and you’ll have a great-tasting croutons.

This sandwiches surpassed even my expectations. It’s always nice to have a cool-flavored food, despite my heart’s desire for spicy foods.

Now, this is not necessarily an “authentic” recipe. Rather, the more authentic varieties see bread, butter, and cucumbers. Perhaps one day when I come across a particularly flavorful variety of bread and butter, I’ll have my cucumber sandwiches in a more true-to-life style. The alternate variety works equally as well for me.

I didn’t have any particular beverage with the cucumber- I suppose defeats the “tea” aspect of tea! But that sandwiches are something you simply must try anyway.

Beaux


 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2011 in postaday2011, sandwiches, tea

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Cucumber Sandwiches: Today’s Tea Time

  1. The Onyx Plate

    January 20, 2011 at 8:32 pm

    I adore cucumber sandwiches!!! 🙂

    Nice picture!

     
    • enamouredslave

      January 20, 2011 at 8:34 pm

      Thanks! I’m so happy that to have tested out Gigi’s camera- it really did have a higher quality photo than my phone.

       

Leave a Reply

 
