RSS

Poppy and the Lazy Susan Table: Part 3

23 Jan

Part 1 is here.

The story about Poppy’s Cookie Jar is here.

So now the story continues, and you’re going to hear all about how my family inherited the Lazy Susan Table.
The table was built by my grandmother’s grandfather, James R. Dean. Poppy retrieved the table out of the barn in 1945 and re-worked it.
According to the information my aunt sent me, the original table was built like this: the Lazy Susan part was 40 inches across, while the main table was 66 inches. This means everyone’s food and plates would fit within a 22 inch zone- and trust me, it was more than enough room. There was a post that went down through the middle of the table to the floor that allowed the Lazy Susan part to turn.
Also, the table top was originally wooden but later replaced with Formica.
So now we arrive at the funny parts of the story.
Apparently, my Aunt Corky would clean off the able and spin the younger kids around on the Lazy Susan part.
And also, apparently, the children liked to crawl under the table to stop the post in the middle from turning the Lazy Susan around.
I can’t imagine someone riding on the Lazy Susan table. My brother and I would never have dared conceived of doing that.
Lawrence Harris once spun the Lazy Susan part as hard as he could…
…which sent the gallon of fresh milk sitting on it flying into the wall.
The Lazy Susan table tells these stories through everyone who has sat around it. To date, I have not encountered one person who has sat at the table who doesn’t remember it or have a story to tell that’s attached to it. The table is a true legacy, the kind of treasure that’s priceless.
Also, it’s been in my family for a long, long time:
  1. Mama Harris’s Grandfather
  2. Mama Harris’s Father
  3. Mama Harris
  4. My Father
  5. Me

That’s a long, long time for the table to have survived, replete with all its amazing stories.

The table now resides at my Uncle Jerry’s house in the Eufaula area. The family still meets there from time to time and eats around the Lazy Susan table.

Two of my uncles, my father, and my aunt posing around the table where they’ve eaten since they were children.

Two aunts, my father, two uncles. It must be great to be able to sit around this table still!

A family affair of people eating. I don’t know who everyone in the picture is. You can see Gigi in her bright pink, though.

All that being said, my father and I have every intention of going into building and selling the Lazy Susan tables. It would be a great honor and a great esteem to be able to share this legacy, to give others the same symbol around which our own lives have been built.

Wouldn’t you love to eat around a Lazy Susan table?

Beaux


 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2011 in food, postaday2011, southern food

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Poppy and the Lazy Susan Table: Part 3

  1. The Onyx Plate

    January 23, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    Absolutely! Love this! I love the back porch everyone is eating on as well. This table still intrigues me with all the things you can do with it! 🙂

     
    • enamouredslave

      January 23, 2011 at 4:55 pm

      If I ever have my own home, I’m definitely going to make the dining room and kitchen the central aspect of it- complete with a Lazy Susan table.

       
  2. Uncle Jerry

    January 27, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    You are welcome to come eat with us at the table anytime you want too.

    Of course we will have fried corn bread with the meal..

    Love,,,

    Uncle jerry and aunt Liz

     
    • enamouredslave

      January 27, 2011 at 7:14 pm

      Thank you! I was actually thinking about asking if I could come for a visit and take even more pictures of the table. Daddy said we need to get even more details on the measurements for it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
