RSS

Beaux’s Brand New Tuna Sandwiches for Tea Time

25 Jan

Something that you may not know about how I create various recipes- my brain suggests random combinations of foods, or perhaps I should say seemingly random combinations of food. I discover, then, through trial and error, what works and what doesn’t.

A few days ago for tea, I had the bright idea of making a variety of tuna sandwich by mixing it with cream cheese.

I took about a third of a block of Philadelphia cream cheese and softened it in the microwave. I was really excited to do this, because I’ve never softened cream cheese before, and that’s one thing you see written in recipes all the time.

Each newly learned little step in cooking makes for an inner smile!

To the cream cheese, I added cayenne pepper, onion powder, garlic powder, and lots of paprika. Oh, and sea salt- don’t forget the sea salt.

I took a 16 oz. can of tuna, drained it, and mixed it with the cream cheese.

For good measure, and because Doc always requests it, I should give the proportions here.

  • 1 16 oz. can of tuna, drained
  • 1/3 of a block of Philadelphia cream cheese
  • 1 teaspoon of sea salt
  • 2 teaspoons of onion powder
  • 2 teaspoons of garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon of cayenne pepper
  • 3 teaspoons of paprika

It’s super easy- just mix everything together, then spread on the bread or crackers of your choice.

As always, feel free to adjust the measurements. The paprika gives the whole thing a nice flavor, and I think you can subtract any other ingredient but that.

I took a taste bite…

…and it was magnificent. I mean absolutely magnificent! The whole recipe was quick, easy, and delicious. I made four sandwiches, cutting two into triangles and two into three finger sandwiches.

My parents really liked the sandwiches, especially Gigi. Normally my tuna salad has mayonnaise in it, but because of the cream cheese version, there was no need for mayonnaise. Gigi is not a fan of mayonnaise, so this please her greatly.

These sandwiches are perfect to serve with a cup of hot, sweetened tea. I guarantee you that you won’t be disappointed. In fact, I think a good mint tea would go lovely with it.

Something’s still missing from the sandwiches, though- and I intend to use my taste buds to discover just what I’m lacking. That’s another interesting trait of cooking- your palate becomes sensitive to smaller cues, hints, and nudges. You become a flavor detective, always aiming to create the perfect dish.

Anyway, as you might have guessed, cream cheese is now my new obsession. The decadence that is cream cheese can be molded and crafted into so many delicious flavors and mixed with so many other delicious that the possibilities are endless. Ever had cream cheese with regular cheese? Oh, man!

Beaux


 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2011 in postaday2011, tea

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Beaux’s Brand New Tuna Sandwiches for Tea Time

  1. gigi

    January 25, 2011 at 6:41 pm

    Very good. Why don’t you try just a sprinkle of black pepper, I think ground would work better in this, and a dash of dried dill? Just a suggestion…But it was fine the way it was….

     
  2. The Onyx Plate

    January 25, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    Now I’m craving cream cheese…I have this yummy cheese on cream cheese beer dip recipe. I will have to find it for u.

     
  3. The Onyx Plate

    January 25, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    Oh yeah, nice use of Sea Salt! You should try smoked paprika…..good stuff!

     
    • enamouredslave

      January 25, 2011 at 8:54 pm

      Smoked paprika? I wasn’t aware that it existed, but now that I am, I’m quite happy.

       

Leave a Reply

 
