RSS

Cheddar Bay…Cheese Toast? A Culinary Experimentation by Yours Truly, or, Eat Your Heart Out, Red Lobster!

27 Jan

Sometimes the failures we have yield the greatest experiences and discoveries.

The most amazing thing to ever happen to me: to be in a chaotic state of mind, having no idea what I’m going to do, and then to take a deep breath, jump in, and succeed without even trying.

I present you Cheddar Bay Cheese Toast.

What you need:

  • 6 slices of bread. (I actually used processed bread in this case; forgive me.)
  • 3 teaspoons of garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon of cumin
  • 1 cup of grated cheese of your choice
  • parsley to taste
  • 1/2 of a small tomato, chopped
  • 3/4 of a medium-sized onion, diced
  • a dollop of the sour cream of your choice for garnish (optional)

What you do:

  • Grate the cheese. You can also opt to just slice it.
  • Grease a cookie sheet. I use Baker’s Joy for this.
  • Lay out the 6 slices of bread.
  • Sprinkle garlic powder on each slice.
  • Sprinkle cumin on the cheese.
  • Sprinkle parsley on the cheese.
  • Add more garlic powder, if desired.
  • Bake in at 400º for 5 minutes or until the cheese is melted and the bread is crispy.

I personally set the items around the onions and tomatoes so as to allow each person to dip onto the cheese toast how much they wanted; the dollop of sour cream came on the top of these, as you can see from the photo.

This recipe is quite, easy, mimics the taste of Red Lobster’s Cheddar Bay biscuits, and was all around delight to make. I encourage everyone to go for it!

My original intent was to make the Cheddar Bay biscuits. The last several times I baked them, they came out wrong, and I’m not sure what I did wrong.

Incorporating the veggies was a last-minute decision. I realize that a lot of my recipes recently have been largely dealing with creams and cheeses, and I know they’re rich and fattening (but delicious), so I’m trying to mix in the healthy food deliberately.

Go ye forth and make cheese toast!

Beaux


 
6 Comments

Posted by on January 27, 2011 in appetizers, food, postaday2011, recipes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Cheddar Bay…Cheese Toast? A Culinary Experimentation by Yours Truly, or, Eat Your Heart Out, Red Lobster!

  1. gigi

    January 27, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    Sorry I had already eaten – fast food, no less. But why don’t you do the garlic cheese mini biscuits since you haven’t done those in a long time?

     
    • enamouredslave

      January 27, 2011 at 11:13 pm

      Oh, there’s a reason I didn’t make the biscuits.

       
  2. Magnificent Minimalist

    January 28, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Oh my goodness. I must try this. I must try this soon.

     
    • enamouredslave

      January 28, 2011 at 5:01 pm

      I’m so happy that it turned out so well. By the way, thanks for visiting my blog so much- I really think your blog is hilarious, too!

       
  3. The Onyx Plate

    January 30, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    I’m pondering making these biscuits tonight….Hmmmm….. We love to duplicate the Red Lobster recipe. I would usually use Bisquick, but I have Jiffy instead. So, we will see how that turns out.

     
    • enamouredslave

      January 30, 2011 at 3:02 pm

      I say go for it. I want to know that someone else can make these biscuits and enjoy their deliciousness.

       

Leave a Reply

 
