RSS

The Exaggerated Misadventure of Mutated Lemon Bars: A Disaster Story

30 Jan

We’ve been planning on making lemon bars for a few weeks now. In an effort to redeem the failed cream cheese poundcake, Gigi decided to make another one in addition to lemon bars.

However, in the middle of the night, an evil ninja from a rivaling tribe sneaked into our home and rewrote the lemon bar recipe.

Gigi, in her innocence, followed the recipe.

But the ninja’s alterations were devious and non-delightful.

So when Gigi saw me approaching when the lemon bars were finished, she flailed her arms at me, screaming, “Stay back, STAY BACK! Run away! Save yourself!”

The inner mule-headedness pushed me onwards, and I saw the lemon bars, semi-innocently sitting on the island with their powdered sugar enticement beckoning me.

The first thing I noticed is that they did not resemble lemon bars in the slightest.

The second thing I noticed is there was no smell of lemon bars.

I tempted the fates by tasting one.

But that was the trick- the lemon bars were so-called in order to trick me into experiencing the disgusting abomination of slightly sweetened baked eggy doom taste in my mouth.

I repeated this process three times to make sure I hadn’t just picked up a bad lemon bar.

Nope. The same thing happened each time- a burst of pure awful taste, a swift and effective penance imposed by God Himself to purge me of any wrongdoing in the past decade of my life.

In that moment, I decided vengeance was the path I would follow.

So, hear this, O lemon bar ninja from a rival tribe: I will hunt you down, and I will destroy you by making you taste my lemon bars, which will be so good that the amount of happiness coursing through you body will cause you to spontaneously combust in a moment of sheer rapture- and then God can sort you out from there.

Beaux


 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 30, 2011 in desserts, disasters, food, postaday2011

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “The Exaggerated Misadventure of Mutated Lemon Bars: A Disaster Story

  1. gigi

    January 31, 2011 at 5:49 am

    Sorry… I followed the recipe exactly but they did taste like an egg custardly gooey concoction…Gotta get me a new recipe since that one did not work…Ugh..But my cream cheese pound cake turned out fantastic. Uh huh !!!!! And you need to post pics of it soon….

     
  2. Project Van

    February 1, 2011 at 1:29 am

    slightly sweetened baked eggy doom taste
    lol
    no thanks on this recipe! haha

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 1, 2011 at 9:39 pm

      I have no idea what went wrong. Definitely too much egg, not enough lemon or sugar. If I ever track down the person who wrote that recipe, I’m going to tell them to try another profession!

       

Leave a Reply

 
