RSS

Guzzlin’ Beer, Y’all: Alky-hol in Slocomb, Alabam-y

02 Feb

Unfortunately, I’m now having to type this blog for the second time today. This is because earlier in the day, using the WordPress app on my iPad, a malfunction occurred.

This is the second time I’ve encountered a problem with spending a good, solid chunk of time writing a blog only to have the app completely erase it for no apparent reason. Thus, I think I may write the developers of the WordPress app for iPad to explain to them how they need to improve the app.

Now that the piece of venting is out of the way, I plan to comment on the fact that as of today, alcohol is being sold in the Southern Baptist capital of the world: Slocomb, Alabama.

For those of you who live elsewhere, either in other parts of the USA or overseas, it may come as a surprise to you that there’s a such thing as counties and cities which forbid the selling of alcohol. But the last election in Slocomb put the sale of alcohol up for a vote, and the vote passed it through.

Personally? Due to my Anglo-Catholic leanings, I don’t have a problem with the consumption of alcohol in and of itself; everything in moderation, and if one violates said moderation, do away with the problem.

Simultaneously, I found myself opposed to the sale of alcohol in Slocomb. We could actually put money into something more beneficial.

Also, the last thing we need is to have drunk rednecks fighting each other at football games. Many in Slocomb are aware of a sizable chunk of the population that thinks football was instituted by Jesus Himself, and no doubt their respective pastors are flogging that point in the pulpit. To bring alcohol into the situation will necessarily result in the perpetuation of the drunk white trash stereotype, something that Slocomb would do well to fight against with all its might, and even that might not be enough.

What does this blog have to do with food, you might ask?

Well, myself not being a huge drinker, I can’t comment on alcohol and the taste thereof too much, other than to say it has no merits as an out-and-out beverage. I did once spend a fond Christmas Eve at a coffee house with people eating cheese and crackers with wine, though to be perfectly honest I much preferred the cheese and crackers to the wine.

See? I managed to relate this blog to actual food after all.

The consumption of alcohol, while having some recreational benefit, doesn’t strike me as something that helps society as a whole. There are better things to do with one’s time, in my opinion, though I’ll make no judgments on anyone who keeps their consumption in check.

Also, how many drunk drivers do you think are actually going to remember that the Stop Sign is suspended in midair when they come cruising through “downtown” Slocomb?

Beaux


 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2011 in food, postaday2011

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Guzzlin’ Beer, Y’all: Alky-hol in Slocomb, Alabam-y

  1. The Onyx Plate

    February 2, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    Loved your closing!!! Suspended?? Seriously??? And, I thought I lived in a cute Southern town…that beats mine. 🙂

     
  2. gigi

    February 2, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    Send the picture to her of the suspended 4 way stop sign…Jeez, that still is unreal…

     
  3. gigi

    February 2, 2011 at 9:27 pm

    Oh, and my computer that I inherited from you has been cranky and screwy All day today. Think it might have something to do with the barometric pressure or this weird weather we are having? Or our server is just the pits; what do you think it is?

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 2, 2011 at 9:36 pm

      Likely a combination of both. We need to invest in better internet; it’s not that much more expensive, like maybe $15 extra than what we’re already paying.

      But also, I got that computer almost six years ago, so there’s little wonder that it’s ready to give out. I’m surprised it’s lasted this long.

      Don’t fear, though. For your purposes, you could get a new computer fairly cheaply and still do everything you do on that one and it still last longer.

       
  4. gigi

    February 3, 2011 at 6:46 am

    I have to keep this one until it completely dies and cannot be revived.. Besides, I like it even if it is older than dirt..No really, why should I buy another one when most of the time this one works fine with the exception of today and loading slowly (which may be the service and not the computer) and the enter button popping off….

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 3, 2011 at 3:25 pm

      You have a point there, but I wouldn’t expect it to last too much longer.

       
  5. gigi

    February 3, 2011 at 6:52 am

    And now, about the sale of alcohol. It has never bothered me to be in a store like in Dothan or Tuscaloosa where it was being sold. It’s just that this little town like you said could use that money, etc. in a lot of other better places and I don’t even wanta hear about how much revenue it will engineer..Hello……And I of course voiced my opinion at the SMP yesterday because I walked in while the distributor coms were stocking the shelves and I told the man, how disappointed I was that they were doing that..Should have an ordinance about schools and churches like most cities and towns do…

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 3, 2011 at 3:27 pm

      This is Slocomb; it’s not like there’s a huge surplus of common sense banked anywhere. The people have a tendency to speak with the same kind of certainty as if they were the ones who directed God in the Creation.

       

Leave a Reply

 
