RSS

Time to Celebrate! 2 Years as Pesco-Vegetarian!

05 Feb

Coinciding with world Nutella day is the time around which I became a pesco-vegetarian two years ago.

I could scarcely believe it, either- two years as a pesco-vegetarian, wow! I’m incredibly happy that I’ve gone this long.

Becoming a vegetarian wasn’t some long, drawn-out decision. It just happened suddenly, and I’ve been one ever since.

I don’t miss eating meat- I never cared for much meat in the first place, as it was the sauce and not the actual meat that I typically liked. That doesn’t mean I didn’t like it at all, just that I preferred other foods to the meat.

So when I gave up land animals, it was all in one instant, as though a switch had clicked in my brain. Nothing with which to struggle, nothing against which to fight, nothing to miss.

But I’m not a vegetarian proper; rather, I’m a pesco-vegetarian, which means I eat seafood. This blog is going to be dedicated to pointing out the various kinds of diets that people eat, from strictest to what might be considered standard.

Fruitarians only eat fruit. Not even veggies, as I understand it, though I could be wrong about this. Also, nothing that casts a shadow, so mainly fruits and roots.

Vegans are “strict” vegetarians. They don’t consume meat, poultry, seafood, eggs, or dairy products.

Lacto-vegetarians don’t consume meat, poultry, seafood, egg, but DO eat dairy products.

Ovo-vegetarians don’t consume meat, poultry, seafood, or dairy products (I think), but DO eat eggs.

Pesco-vegetarians don’t consume meat or poultry, but do eat eggs and dairy products. (This is where I stand.)

Pollo-vegetarians eat poultry and all the other products except meat. (This gets complicated.)

Then of course you have the so-called “standard” diet.

This is only a small summary, of course; the reality is that there are variations and combinations of even the above listed, especially when you consider things like “raw food” diets and so forth.

But yes, three cheers to me for having kept such a diet for so long! It’s been fun, and I have no regrets!

Beaux

 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2011 in food

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Time to Celebrate! 2 Years as Pesco-Vegetarian!

  1. gigi

    February 5, 2011 at 8:16 pm

    I am not a vegetarian; however, I just don’t eat a lot of meat because I really don’t care for it…My favorite is bacon but I think I could give that up as I do not eat a lot of it anyway.. Do you feel better and more healthy due to not consuming meat; or is there a difference in how you feel physically?
    So would I be a pseudo veg.? I did not realize that there were so many different ‘types’ of veg. I have learned something new today.. Thank you….

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 5, 2011 at 8:27 pm

      Personally, I feel healthier for it, and of course, I make sure to take vitamins, too.

      Other people have reported not feeling quite as healthy, so it could also depend on one’s body chemistry.

       
  2. The Onyx Plate

    February 6, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    So proud of you! I am still sticking with a couple meatless meals throughout each day. I must say…the Buffalo Chik’n Tenders were soooo tasty! I haven’t really been dissapointed yet with the substitutes when I desired them.

     
  3. Project Van

    February 7, 2011 at 11:05 pm

    yasu said once that japanese used to not eat 4 legged animals. they ate chicken etc but not 4 leg creatures…
    i think i got that right….dont take my word for it!

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 7, 2011 at 11:08 pm

      That’s very curious. I can see that, though, for some reason.

       

Leave a Reply

 
