RSS

The Origin of the Name “Beaux”

09 Feb

Beaux is the pen name I chose to employ on my blog for a variety of reasons, and it has its own unique history.

Using a pen name allows me to honor the particular role as a writer- this role of mine, of my using and producing my art, has a specific office attached to it in my own life, and therefore when I refer to myself as “Beaux,” I know that I’m paying homage to the skills I have and returning those skills to God (who gave them to me) and the world (who helped to shape the skill into talent that can be used for their benefit and mine.)

Many years ago, I met a guy who went by the name Van Random. Van Random had a friend he dubbed Van Tilden- the very same Van Tilden that runs the Project Van blog discussing Japan.

Van Random gave the nicknames out to his various friends according to their merits and traits. I decided on my own name, and partially from what Van Random already called me.

There were, at the time, two different Stephens with whom Van Random associated. We, in fact, both went by the name “Stevo” to distinguish ourselves from the various other Stephens, Stevens, Steves, and so forth.

To distinguish us in conversation, Van Random developed two titles. The other Stevo became “Dorky Stevo” and I became “Beautiful Stevo.”

The Greek origin of my name is Stephanos. “Beaux” is the French plural form of the masculine word for “beautiful.” Technically, my name should be without an “x,” but the “x” makes it more aesthetic.

But despite all those letters, it’s just pronounced “Bo.”

Thus, when the time came, and Van Random officially dubbed me into the Van Clan, I became “Van Beaux Stephanos,” which would translate in an awful way to “Van Beautiful Stephen.”

Beaux Stephanos is too much to type all at once and a mouthful at that, but “Beaux” is easy to say (just “Bo”), one of my great uncles went by “Bo,” and for me, it just works.

So that’s how I came to have the name “Beaux.”

Signed,

Beaux


 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2011 in food, postaday2011

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Origin of the Name “Beaux”

  1. The Onyx Plate

    February 9, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    Sounds very Southernesque as well… πŸ™‚ cool story, wish I had a Van in my life to name me. πŸ™‚

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 10, 2011 at 1:53 pm

      A funny story is the hierarchy of the Van Clan. I made the mistake of “vanning” someone one time, because I’m a Double Van (I’m an Eastern Van and a Western Van), and the guy I “vanned’ turned out to be an extremely arrogant and self-absorbed. It was sad. Thus, I excommunicated him.

       
  2. gigi

    February 9, 2011 at 9:04 pm

    Thanks for the clarification….

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 10, 2011 at 1:51 pm

      I thought it would help if everyone knew.

       

Leave a Reply

 
