RSS

Tasty Ham and Egg Pie, Written in Alabamian-style English!

13 Feb

Author’s Note: This recipe was written entirely by Van Random and not yours truly. I am reposting here because he graciously offered the recipe to me, and it sounds absolutely delicious (even though I don’t eat ham.) Kept in tact are his endearing Southern colloquialisms. The only changes I have made are a few grammatical errors that were bugging me. Other than the tidying, it’s all him. Again, Beaux did not write this.


Step 1.

Make a roux with 2 and a third cups of water with 2 ham flavoring packets and 2 Tablespoons of self-rising flour. If you need to know how to make a roux, you add small amounts of hot broth to the flour, whisking it as you go to remove clumps. Then add it back to the main pot of hot broth and cook it a little till its mostly clot-free. A few small clods ain’t gonna hurt it none.

Step 2.

Dice up 4 boiled eggs and about 3 cups of ham.

Step 3.

Pour diced up ham & eggs into a buttered glass baking dish, of average size. Pour roux over top of this. On top of this, I put a fairly large amount of crushed black pepper. I love black pepper.

Step 4.

Mix 2 and a half cups of self-rising flour, a half a cup (approx) of melted butter, and at LEAST a cup of a half of buttermilk… Add buttermilk as needed to make the mixture thin enough that you can sorta spread it over the ham and egg mix. It’s gonna be thick-like anyway.

Step 5.

Then bake it till the top rises and gets bready. I put paprika on top before I baked it. This could take over 30 minutes.

I don’t feel like I left nothing out. You could doctor this recipe up as you want. It just occurred to me as a matter of fact that I was gonna put some frozen peas in my roux, but I forgot all about them. Oh well. Next time.

-Van Random, via Van Beaux Stephanos

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Tasty Ham and Egg Pie, Written in Alabamian-style English!

  1. The Onyx Plate

    February 13, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    Ha! I added a Southern drawl to it, and it was perfect!!! sounds wonderful! 🙂

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 13, 2011 at 10:37 pm

      That’s how he speaks, too, in real life. It’s hilarious.

       
  2. Project Van

    February 14, 2011 at 10:00 pm

    neat! a collab recipe post!

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 14, 2011 at 10:30 pm

      This recipe was so amazing to post!!! I’m sure it could make anyone laugh.

       

Leave a Reply

 
