RSS

The Incredible Week of Awesome Food: Broccoli Salad

18 Feb

From time to time, my mystical friends and I gather together for great food and conversation. This past get-together yielded a fantastic set of recipes and treats, which I will now share with everyone here.

The recipes will not be posted in any particular order other than as I receive and blog them.

This recipe is for Broccoli Salad and comes from my friend Michele. She warned me of the presence of bacon in the salad, so I did not try any of it. However, Gigi loves Broccoli Salad, and so this recipe will be something for her to try.

What you need:

  • 1 head broccoli
  • 6 to 8 slices cooked bacon, crumbled
  • 1/2 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/2 cup raisins, optional
  • 8 ounces sharp Cheddar, cut into very small chunks
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 tablespoons white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup halved cherry tomatoes
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

What you do:

  • Trim off the large leaves from the broccoli stem.
  • Remove the tough stalk at the end and wash broccoli head thoroughly.
  • Cut the head into flowerets and the stem into bite-size pieces.
  • Place in a large bowl.
  • Add the crumbled bacon, onion, raisins if using, and cheese.
  • In a small bowl, combine the remaining ingredients, stirring well.
  • Add to broccoli mixture and toss gently.

Also, I’m sure the Onyx Plate will be trying this recipe soon, because this is right up awesome little nook of life!

Naturally, I need to go pick one recipe of her many delicacies and say, “This, I shall make and review,” as she’s already been kind enough to review my tuna salad.

Also, Michele has put me up to a tuna salad challenge, so we’ll have to do that one night and blog about the results.

Happy eating, and carpe diem!

Beaux


 
5 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2011 in food, recipes, salads

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “The Incredible Week of Awesome Food: Broccoli Salad

  1. The Onyx Plate

    February 18, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    My mom also loves Broccoli salad. Although, hers doesn’t contain tomatoes or cubed cheese…this could add a whole new layer to the palate with this dish!

    You may be right, Beaux…..I just may try this.

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 18, 2011 at 10:17 pm

      Tonight, I made an extremely easy, friendly salad that was definitely the best I’ve had in my life; there’s something to be said for the taste of organic foods.

       
  2. gigi

    February 19, 2011 at 7:49 am

    I have used this recipe (similar) for years….I just don’t do the tomatoes and cheese and put the bacon on the side…It is in my cookbook from church….

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 19, 2011 at 3:23 pm

      I remember that raisins were a big ingredient that makes your broccoli salad great.

       
  3. gigi

    February 19, 2011 at 7:52 am

    Oh, and mine does use peanuts which are added right before serving. This also needs to be done a few hours ahead and put in fridge so the flavors can merge and then add peanuts before serving…
    Just saw the comments from the Onyx Plate so she must have the same recipe that I have….

     

Leave a Reply

 
