RSS

Week 2 of the Great Publix Dining Experience: Friday Night Meal

23 Feb

In our last adventure, we saw the shopping list and discussed some of the finer aspects of shopping at Publix.

Okay, actually, we just saw how excited I was about shopping at Publix.

Our meal consisted of three major parts:

 

  • The Salad
  • The Spaghetti and Meatless Meatballs
  • The Tandoori Naan

The salad consisted of organic spinach and arugula and grape tomatoes, chopped up and mixed together with olive oil, salt, pepper, and parmesan cheese (in a small quantity.) The flavor burst in my mouth and makes me hungry thinking about it even now.

Normally, I am not a fan of salad. Most salad tastes bitter and dry. Now I’m convinced that the reason for this is because most salads are not made from organic food, and this causes a huge difference in quality and taste.

Some people might suggest that it’s a matter of psychology, but from what I can tell, organic food actually has a different taste to it that I can only describe as being “purer.”

My first experience of organic food came with an organic orange last year, in which the orange did not have the normal “bitter” aftertaste to which I’m accustomed. In a likewise manner, the tomatoes and spinach did not have that aftertaste- they were tomato and spinach all the way through, not lacking anything, and man, oh, man, was that salad good.

The spaghetti consisted of regular spaghetti noodles and mushroom alfredo sauce, along with the meatless meatballs. The meatless meatballs have no special way of being prepared- you can just pop them into the sauce, warm them up, and let them cook with it, and when everything’s ready, mix it all together as I did.

Naan is a kind of bread from India. This particular naan had a garlic flavor to it, which complemented the theme of the meal rather well. To prepare naan, you must sprinkle the bread with a bit of water, pop in the oven for two to three minutes, and there you have it.

Altogether, the meal was smashing and delicious and worthy of sharing with you all. This is the kind of food that I prepare that makes me feel as though I’ve truly arrived in the world of cooking, though deep down I know I still have an incredible amount to learn and must progress to even greater heights. That old Southern magic isn’t mine just yet, but I’ll get it somehow.

Beaux

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 23, 2011 in food, italian food, postaday2011

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Week 2 of the Great Publix Dining Experience: Friday Night Meal

  1. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.

    February 23, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    You’re right. Organic spoils you. It’s how food was meant to be tasted. We had some garlic naan just the other night. Love Indian food.

     
  2. gigi

    February 23, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    You must bring some Indian bread to me so I can taste it. I love bread and I have heard from you and others that it is wonderful..And your salad looked so scrumptious but of course salad is always so very good to me….

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 24, 2011 at 1:30 am

      Sure, I’ll try to grab some more Naan this weekend.

       

Leave a Reply

 
