RSS

Mediterranean Dinner with Rheana

25 Feb

A few weeks ago, I had the incredible fortune of hanging out with my dear friend Rheana. Graciously she prepared some of the best food I’d eaten in a long time.

My mystic friends have a huge trend in the world of food: they tend to go towards more veggies, more fruits, and more vegetarian-ish options. In my world, that’s not a bad thing, because it’s a change towards the freshness of life, and I adore trying new things.

Rheana fried plantains for us, though she was afraid they didn’t turn out so well. The truth is, she did a fantastic job with them, a job that I was unable to properly mimic over the next couple of days. At least her fried plantains stayed inside their dough; mine had no dough on them by the time I finished frying them.

She also cut up pita bread and provided us with baba ghannouj and hummus. Baba ghannouj is a kind of pureed eggplant, and hummus is a dish consisting of ground chickpeas and a number of spices.

When I was younger and first tried the baba ghannouj, I didn’t like it, but tastes, in time, do change, and so I found myself delighted to have it once again. You’d be surprised at what going without a food for 4 or 5 years can do to transform one’s interest in it.

This does not hold true for squash. I could go the rest of my life without eating any squash, and if there is a God, I’m sure he’ll see to that.

Hummus is more delicate in flavor than baba ghannouj but also more filling, and the fried plantains were a sweet treat that reminded me of the apple turnovers popular in my own family. Fried fruit is where it’s at.

Rheana and I also had hot tea with this meal.

If you’ve never tried Mediterranean food, I give you a whole-hearted suggestion to do it.

Beaux


 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2011 in food

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Mediterranean Dinner with Rheana

  1. gigi

    February 25, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Sounds wonderfully delicious…

     
  2. gigi

    February 26, 2011 at 5:28 am

    Sounds wonderful….

     
  3. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.

    February 26, 2011 at 11:31 am

    Reminds me to make some hummus today.

     
  4. The Onyx Plate

    March 12, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    I thought about playing with Plaintains the other day….maybe I should take the plunge afterall. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
