RSS

Beaux’s Happy Tofurkey Bruschetta

26 Feb

After the grand journey to Publix and the provision of a number of delicious foods to me by my friend Kelly, I decided to whip together some delicacies for the all-important night of watching the Grammy Awards. Lady Gaga was performing, after all, and my friends and I were not about to miss Our Lady performing her new single.

I arrived at Caleb’s house sooner than he did, and so I shared the wonderful meals from my other friends with this set of friends. The piece de resistance was the Tofurkey bruschetta I put together, which was fast, easy, and one of the best things I’ve ever popped into my mouth.

One quick thing to remind everyone about is that dry, bland crackers and bread actually can serve a purpose in this world; namely, they will become the bed and supporting table of more flavorful things.

So the mini-toast crackers became the main part of the dish, followed by slices of Tofurkey, all topped off with the cucumber salad that Kelly had made the day before.


Tofurkey is comparable to many vegetarian alternatives: the taste is, at best, lacking something or odd if eaten by itself. In context, which is to say, when Tofurkey is eaten on a sandwich, cracker, or in place of actual turkey meat, the difference in taste isn’t really noticeable.

The taste of plain Tofurkey actually grew on me, and my whole love for pesco-vegetarianism has only continued to grow.

The cucumber salad had tomato and onions in it, and there was yogurt sauce on it (I think), which gave it a nice, cook taste. The dryness of the cracker was remedied because of the sauce on the veggies.

All-in-all, this dish made me incredibly happy.

Beaux


 
6 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2011 in appetizers, food, postaday2011

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Beaux’s Happy Tofurkey Bruschetta

  1. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.

    February 26, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    My husband likes tofurky. I’m not really that crazy about it. Love tofu though. I think what you made would be good with hummus.

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 27, 2011 at 3:58 pm

      Yes, considering how much I love hummus! Hummus is one of those all-around fill you up, make you feel good foods!

       
  2. The Onyx Plate

    February 26, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    This post makes me happy. šŸ™‚ A fresh bruschetta…always sounds amazing! I may sub the Tofurkey, not ready for that yet. šŸ˜‰

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 27, 2011 at 3:58 pm

      Do it one day just as an adventure to see how you like it. šŸ™‚

       
  3. The Onyx Plate

    February 26, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    Oh yeah, beautiful colorful picture!

     
    • enamouredslave

      February 27, 2011 at 3:59 pm

      Most of these pictures have been taken with my phone because I wasn’t at home. Alas!

       

Leave a Reply

 
