RSS

Maw-Maw’s Enormous Potatoes

27 Feb

These freaks of nature have made it all the way to Alabama, and Maw-Maw is the one in happy possession of them.

Honestly, I couldn’t begin to believe the size of these potatoes, but as I do love potatoes, I still quite adored them.


But you can’t truly appreciate just how large they are from this picture.

That’s my hand.

Now, of course, many of you will be quick to point out that I have small, girlish hands, and this is true.

They’re also angelically soft, or so I’ve been told.

Mama Harris blessed me with great skin.


On the right we have a normal potato. On the left, the monster of a potato that looks like it could eat an entire army of smaller potatoes.


Maw-Maw had a genius idea- she quickly obtained a ruler and measuring tape for us to use so you could see exactly how large the potatoes were by comparison.


The sockdolager of the matter is as above: the potato was ultimately nine inches long. I didn’t even bother to see how many inches around it was.

Did I mention that Maw-Maw made mashed potatoes that night?

Beaux


 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 27, 2011 in food, postaday2011, southern food

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Maw-Maw’s Enormous Potatoes

  1. The Onyx Plate

    March 12, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    My what big potatoes you have grandma….

    And I bet those were the best damn mashed potatoes you had savored in a long time! šŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
