RSS

Andrew’s Bread

03 Mar

AUTHOR’S NOTE: My friend Andrew graciously wrote this recipe up for me, so I’m posting it here.

“Andrew’s Bread”

Well, for anyone starting out making any kind of bread I would advise either finding a trusted place to get dough from, or find a style you enjoy.

Make your dough and put it on a cooking stone/ or cooking pan- thin metal cookie sheet pan works well. (If you are using a pan of some sort best to coat it with butter, oil of some kind so it does not stick)

Spread it out almost like you are making a pizza to the size you desire. I recommend spreading it out reasonably thin to ensure more even cooking.

Next, slice up your peppers. I love a variety of peppers and the color really seems to enhance the look and taste of the food so I use green, yellow, red, orange and jalapeño for a bit of extra spice. Feel free to use any assortment of peppers you please. Occasionally I add a couple slices of pepperoni. The juices of the pepperoni will come out to give a nice added taste to the peppers.

I enjoy a nice crunch in my bread, so I slice the peppers in large strips rather than chopping them up into bits. Go with what you love most, though.

Spread the peppers out on the dough. Make sure you have enough to fill the bread but not overdoing it. To ensure you can close up the ingredients properly inside.

Then add your choice of cheese- I use pepper jack and fresh mozzarella but you can add Cheddar, Monterey and really almost any cheese you prefer -Although I would not recommend American.

Close up the bread trying to get the bulk of the ingredients in a center line in the bread. Close off the sides of the bread and then take a fork or knife and lightly poke the bread all over. Do not make the pokes too hard or too large to ensure the goodness stays inside.

To help give the bread a nice toasted brown look I melt some butter- just a little and smear it over the top of the dough. I am also a huge fan of garlic so after putting the butter down I sprinkle some garlic on the bread. It will mix with the butter and cook with the bread. Of course with garlic you need to know how much is too much for your taste. So sprinkle sparingly.

Set your oven to about 500 and cook for 14-16 mins.

I have found that all ovens cook a bit differently. So if this is your first ever attempt to cook something I would advise checking the bread after 10 minutes to gage when you want to take it out. I like my bread to brown and have a little crunch so I push for the maximum time.

Take it out and let it sit a minute or two to cool off. You may wish to cut the bread in half to allow it to cool faster.

After a few minutes feel free to cut it up with a large serrated knife. Best to cut pieces too thick than thin to keep in the cheese and peppers.

Serve and enjoy!

Bon Appetite

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2011 in appetizers, comfort food, food, postaday2011

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Andrew’s Bread

  1. athursdayschild has a long way to go and much to be thankful for.

    March 3, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    That looks great. I think artichokes would work well too. I can’t have bread for two months though, may make for my husband.

     
  2. gigi

    March 4, 2011 at 5:51 am

    That looks so delicious. I am going to have to try this….

     

Leave a Reply

 
