RSS

Adventures in Food! Beaux and His Nifty Discoveries about Crackers and Bread

08 Mar

One of the best snacks I’ve had lately is the simplest most delicious food ever: bread with olive oil and sea salt.

You can use any kind of bread, but slicing fresh French bread is probably the best for this meal.

Make sure to add some sea salt to the bowl of olive oil, too.

Now for the actual adventure I went on:

This adventure again involves coffee, but it also involves crackers.

I reheated coffee with non-dairy creamer in it in the microwave for exactly one minute, 19 seconds

I know this exact time because I stopped the microwave before it gave its loud beep thrice.

Apparently, microwaves are built to let everyone and their cows know that there is something in it and that it’s finished cooking.

Gigi has a strange habit of dipping crackers into coffee, and I’m not opposed to do that, either. So I dipped a cracker in the hot coffee.

Luckily, the coffee didn’t boil the cracker like it did the cookie that one time.

So then I innocently popped the cracker into my mouth…

…and the flavor of a hot dog exploded on my tongue.

Yes, you read that correctly. A hot dog. The actual hot dog sausage or wiener or whatever it’s called. That taste was in my mouth.

I repeated this little experiment several times over, and the whole time questioned myself as to how it was even possible that a cracker, non-dairy creamer, and coffee could taste anything remotely like a hot dog.

Apparently, truth is stranger than fiction, as I proved to myself again and again and again that crackers in coffee with non-dairy creamer taste like hot dogs.

Food becomes an increasingly weird aspect of reality as the days go by.

Has anyone else ever encountered that kind of weird food combination and taste?

Beaux


 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 8, 2011 in food, italian food, postaday2011

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Adventures in Food! Beaux and His Nifty Discoveries about Crackers and Bread

  1. projectvan

    March 8, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    that:s really odd!!

     
    • enamouredslave

      March 8, 2011 at 10:29 pm

      Oh, yes. It’s incredibly odd in the weirdest of ways.

       
  2. gigi

    March 9, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    I don’t use non-dairy creamer nor creamer of any type so my coffee is just plain dark aromatic coffee without Anything added. Maybe it was the creamer that led to that weird taste. I shall never be able to ‘dip’ another cracker without thinking about hotdogs. And as you know, hotdogs are not my thing…..

     
    • enamouredslave

      March 9, 2011 at 7:41 pm

      But that’s because you’re aware that they aren’t made from the choice parts of the animals, too.

      Some of the Morning Star stuff is good- some of those veggie dogs can be made to taste all right.

       
  3. The Onyx Plate

    March 12, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    Dude….I don’t know what to write for this one. Ha! I’m quite perplexed!

     

Leave a Reply

 
