RSS

Gigi’s Biscuits vs. Maw-Maw’s Biscuits: Two Great Varieties

10 Mar

Gigi’s biscuits are a style of biscuit called “drop biscuit.” When making drop biscuits, one typically creates a mixture and then drops hunks of the dough into a container (often a skillet.) There is nothing more to the process than mixing the ingredients together, then dropping them into a pan afterwards.

Maw-Maw’s style of biscuits are what I call, “roll and go.” The ingredients are mixed together, rolled out, and then a utensil, often a cookie-cutter, is used to cut out biscuits in equal sizes.

Drop biscuits come out bulky and uneven but have a great variety of texture, whereas roll and go biscuits have a kind of homogenous texture throughout and are much more bread-like in their quality.

Honestly, I love them both- biscuits are great to me, no matter how they’re made, but I can vouch for the fact that I don’t care much for frozen biscuit dough. Sure, I’ll eat frozen biscuits, but home-made biscuits invariably are better, so I encourage everyone to try making them on their own!

Beaux

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2011 in food, postaday2011, snacks, southern food

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Gigi’s Biscuits vs. Maw-Maw’s Biscuits: Two Great Varieties

  1. gigi

    March 11, 2011 at 4:56 am

    Biscuits my way are so simple and easy to make and so much less expensive than those from the freezer case at the supermarket. But more important, they taste so much better. I have done the rolled out ones but I had flour and dough everywhere from the kit. counter, the island, floor, and all over my clothes until I said never again.
    The last thing I rolled out was when we tried your pie crust until last week when I made ‘Andrew’s bread’. But biscuits, no way. Just ‘drop and go’….

     
  2. The Onyx Plate

    March 12, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Drool…….This also reminds me that I have a plate just like the one above that I need to return. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
