RSS

Culinary Disasters of Beaux: The Not-So-Great Fate of the Falafel

12 Mar

As I write this blog, I’ll remind myself and my readers than even the almighty kitchen goddess herself, Julia Child, burned a chicken on her show once, so my mistakes in the world of cooking should be look at as relatively mild in comparison.

Falafel. My friend Josh mentioned this supposedly wonderful food to me. I discovered to my delight that it was made from chick peas, which are also the main ingredient for hummus. Since I adore hummus, I reasoned that I would also adore falafel, and I set upon an adventure in Publix to get falafel mix and make it.

But falafel requires one to do something at which I am not a skilled chef, despite my living in the South.

Falafel requires one to deep fry it.

Howl, Swifty, and I traveled bravely into Publix, returning with the necessary ingredients to make the falafel.

Because I had a knowledge of my own inability to deep-fry things, I made sure to get a back-up meal that consisted of sushi and soy meatballs so that we could eat those in case the falafel died.

The package instructions seemed easy enough, but the easier something sounds in life, typically the more difficult it seems to be in practice.

The instructions required one to add a little water, make a mixture of the powder, allow it to sit for 10 minutes, and then to add it to hot oil and cook for two minutes or until golden brown.

The first part was easy.

Making the falafel mix into actual little balls was more difficult, as I didn’t know how big they were supposed to be. Apparently, I made them too large, but they seemed to cook just fine in the oil.

Except that only half of them cooked at any given time. The balls were too large, so half of them burnt in the oil, sticking to the bottom the pan, and the other half didn’t cook at all, so it proceeded to fall apart in the oil.

A messy, disgusting adventure that left me highly disappointed.

The soy meatballs made a delightful substitution, and needless to say, the sight of the other pack of falafel mix makes me feel somewhat sick to my stomach. If and when I attempt to make the next batch of falafel, it will consist of the tiniest falafel balls anyone has ever seen.

Beaux


 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2011 in food, postaday2011

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Culinary Disasters of Beaux: The Not-So-Great Fate of the Falafel

  1. The Onyx Plate

    March 12, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    This sounds intriguing. Although, I like yourself, am not a fan of frying. Are we odd to live in the South?

     
  2. Chriscross

    March 24, 2011 at 1:42 am

    Something about “deep” frying food turns my stomach; literally! I can just feel the oil seeping out of my pores, not to mention the heart burn! ( o _ 0 ) I’ll just stick to veggie burgers, hummus, and lentils, just to name a few “non greasy” vegetarian delights.

     

Leave a Reply

 
