RSS

My Unhealthy Affair: Confessions of a Carboholic

16 Mar

So I’ll admit that I should probably rename my pesco-vegetarian self to something more like a “carbotarian” because of the vast amount of carbs I seem to consume.

I ventured into the grocery store earlier with every intent of buying ramen. On the drive to the grocery store, my mind began to whir and blurt out all kinds of ideas.

“Wouldn’t it be great to cook some pasta? Italian food sounds good.”

“Oh, I should get some French bread.”

“Maybe I should check to see if they have rosemary.”

Half an hour later and $9 well spent, I have returned to my home with mainly carbohydrates.

My purchases included the following:

  • One loaf of French bread
  • One souper six-pack of ramen (shrimp flavored)
  • Two packages of bow-tie pasta
  • A box of frozen Pierogies that I plan to sauté

Needless to say, the only non-carbohydrate aspect of my purchases is the cheese in the pierogies.

Vegetables don’t appeal to me nearly as much as they should, what with my being vegetarian. Maybe the word is kind of a strange word to use, but anyway, let’s continue on.

Continuing to read through my new cookbook, I’ve been horrified to see that Deborah Madison speaks of cooking things such as corn, greens, and squash. The idea that I will have to suffer through those recipes makes me shudder terribly.

The saving grace is the realization about food I had last night: maybe it isn’t that I don’t like these various kinds of vegetables but more that I’ve never had them prepared quite properly. A proper preparation of a dish can completely change the way it tastes, and too often in our culture, we rush through things just to have a sense of accomplishment.

Well, I’d rather be late and look great than be on time and be a mess.

One major thing that seems to be missing from the vegetable world is the flavor of savoriness. Meat has a certain savory quality that one just doesn’t find in a tomato or a cucumber. Let’s just be honest about this. So vegetarians by and large make up for the lack of inherent savoriness with oils and dairy products (at least in my best calculation.)

My friend Kelly prepared a delicious wrap for me once that included a medley of vegetables and some cream cheese, and it tasted as good as any professional wrap one might find anywhere! That shocked me, that it was so satisfying, but then a lot of vegetarian recipes don’t really cross our minds on a daily basis, so we miss the potential for a satisfying vegetable meal.

That being said, I’m going to push forward and go chow down on some pierogies now.

Beaux


 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2011 in food, postaday2011

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “My Unhealthy Affair: Confessions of a Carboholic

  1. gigi

    March 17, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    Okay, just what veggies do you like? (some would say that I should know this) I do know that you do not like those that you listed…

     
    • enamouredslave

      March 17, 2011 at 5:27 pm

      Tomatoes, potatoes, cucumbers, onions, celery, bell peppers, mushrooms, green beans, lima beans, butter beans, spinach, beets, radishes, arugula all top out the list, I think. There are likely more veggies that I like but can’t remember at the moment.

      Black eyed peas are something to which I’m more indifferent. They seem too easily to devolve into a slimy mess.

       
  2. gigi

    March 18, 2011 at 10:50 am

    Well you got the enjoyment of carbs from your momma. Without a doubt. I could live on garden salads (just so long as I have some taco sauce, cheese, and chips to make it a ‘meatless’ taco salad). There is just nothing better… And I prefer salty foods rather than anything sweet..

     

Leave a Reply

 
